• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

Help for Fighting Lust: A Meditation Plan (3 of 5)

The following is a guest post by Joe Tyrpak, Assistant Pastor of Tri-County Bible Church in Madison, Ohio. In part 1 of his meditation plan he suggested that we “Call to mind the deceptions of sinful sensuality.” In part 2 he suggested that we “Call to mind the destructions of sinful sensuality.” Now he moves to his third point.

_____

Meditation Plan (Part #3): CALL TO MIND THE DELIGHTS OF GOD-ORDAINED SENSUALITY.

Solomon does not call us to focus only on the negatives of physical intimacy. Rather, in addition to knowing the deceptions and destructions of sinful sensuality, he calls us to focus on the delights of God-ordained sensuality. Solomon not only encourages us to enjoy God’s good gift of sexuality; he commands it.

When I’m come to this part of the meditation plan, I often consider four different facets.

First, I think about the specific commands of Proverbs 5. God issues five staggering commands:

  1. “Drink water from your own cistern” (5:15).
  2. “Let your fountain be blessed” (5:18).
  3. “Rejoice with your wife” (5:18).
  4. “Let her breasts satisfy you” (5:19).
  5. “Be intoxicated with her love” (5:19). Here, the term love would be better translated lovemaking. Clearly, that’s what is in view.

So five times I’m commanded by God to indulge in the pure pleasure of marital intimacy! He created it to be satisfying, refreshing, joyful, and intoxicating. Calling this to mind helps me to remember the goodness and liberality of God, something Adam and Eve failed to do.

Second, I think about the Song of Songs. Here are a few statements that have become precious to me (I’ve given my own paraphrase of each).

  • 1:2, “I’m longing for you to smother me with your kisses.”
  • 4:7, “You are altogether beautiful, my love.”
  • 4:9, “You have aroused the passions of my heart with one glance of your eyes.”
  • 4:12, “A locked garden is … my bride, a locked spring, a private fountain.”
  • 5:1, “Eat, friends, drink, and be intoxicated with lovemaking!”
  • 8:6, “The fiery flashes of passionate love are expression of the very nature and character of Yahweh himself.”

Third, I think about my wife. I call to mind that she is committed to me, that we are covenanted together, that she loves me and has given to me her whole self, her whole life. I recall our precious romantic memories-from our dating years to our wedding, honeymoon, life experiences together, vacations, normal time at home, sexual enjoyments, special dates, hours reading on the couch together. I specifically call to mind the many, many delights of making love to her, and I call to mind how she totally intoxicates me.

Fourth, I sometimes think about statistics. Many studies have been on the sexual fulfillment of various individuals. Inevitably, the studies all reveal that long-term monogamous couples have the most satisfying sex lives. These studies show that the supposed pleasure of “free sex” is an absolute lie, and that God’s way is not only right, but also full of delight.

_____

Previous posts in this series:

4 Responses

  1. “Calling this to mind helps me to remember the goodness and liberality of God, something Adam and Eve failed to do.”

    I think this is an excellent point, and certainly does get to the root of things. I plan to use it in an upcoming retreat session on guarding the heart. Thank you.

  2. […] In part 2 he suggested that we “Call to mind the destructions of sinful sensuality.” In part 3 he considered the joys of God-ordained sensuality. Now he moves to his fourth […]

  3. […] Call to mind the delights of God-ordained sensuality. […]

  4. […] Call to mind the delights of God-ordained sensuality. […]

Leave a comment