Is It Gonna Burn? Am I?

Wilds Press OnI'm a fan of much of the music that comes out of THE WILDS Christian Camp. I believe that their ministry of music has been a boon to the church and to fundamentalism in particular. I'm grateful. I've especially enjoyed Proclaim His Name (now only $10, BTW), To the Praise of His Glory (also $10), Hear My Prayer and anything by my good friends the Herbsters.

That said, last night I was troubled by a song on Press On, a newer choral recording that I've owned for a while but haven't listened to much. "Is It 'Gonna' Burn?" (also available in a choral book) is based on the I Corinthians 3:12-15, where the believer's works are tried by fire. The chorus of the song goes as follows:

Is it "gonna" burn? What you build in this life–Is it "gonna burn?

Will you lose it all? When your work is tried–Will you lose it all?

Will you enter the kingdom as one to whom the Lord will say, "Well done,"

Or will you cross over into His land, burned and scarred with an empty hand?

Is it "gonna" burn?

The idea of entering into heaven empty-handed is sobering indeed. But the idea of being "burned and scarred"? Yikes. Allowing for any sort of punitive judgment of the redeemed is not only extra-biblical, but patently unbiblical. Perhaps it was only intended to add to the imagery of our works being burned. Perhaps it was unintentional. Perhaps it was the result of a mistaken understanding of what the Bema Seat is all about. At any rate, it's a grievous error, IMO. I was surprised and disappointed.

Is it a big deal? Sure it is. I'm not calling for us to strain at gnats by overstating the importance of trivial doctrinal details, but the burning and scarring of Christians at the Bema Seat is not trivial. Accurate communication of biblical truth is the starting point for Christian music. Music teaches. Catchy tunes, clever phrases and artistic imagery are irrelevant if the text is unbiblical. Unfortunately, I think that's the case here.

Our churches–and especially our teens–have come to trust THE WILDS as an excellent source of Christian music, and rightly so. I'm very confident they'll come out with more that is helpful for the church in the future. I'm a fan and friend of THE WILDS. I'm grateful for their ministry. But I think they blew it on this one.

66 Responses

  1. My good friend Mark Perry has addressed the judgment seat of Christ well here.

  2. Chris, you’re right. I too have greatly appreciated the Wilds’ musical ministry over the years, but this is a problem. The Judgment Seat of Christ has been often misrepresented in preaching and popular writing (I’ve taken a shot at this before, but I don’t get 340,000 hits on my blog). :-)

    The deeper problem seems to be theological imprecision (which is not just limited to music). We must remove all theological imprecision (i.e., error) from our thinking and verbiage. This takes time and dedication, and sometimes, like you’ve done here, we need to call friends on the carpet and ask some hard questions. We should be striving to “take every thought captive to obey Christ” (2 Cor 10:5).

    On that same recording, there’s a song called “When God is Silent.” I also have serious problems with the theology of that song, since it implies that sometimes God is not silent (viz., ongoing revelation). Unfortunately, I’m afraid the song is widely accepted by the majority of fundamentalism, who happily sing a song that explicates what they (implicitly) believe: that God is still revealing himself to us through feelings of peace, circumstances, or thoughts that pop into their heads.

    I believe your theological ship has struck the tip of the iceberg.

  3. Whoa, you threw me a bone! I guess 34,000 is enough for any humble pastor. . . . [heh,heh]

  4. […] Chris Anderson critiques the theology of a song recently published by the Wilds. […]

  5. Uh-oh.

  6. Hey Chris, is there a way you can change my name in these comments to "Andy Rupert"? [heh,heh]

    _______ 

    (Editor's note: Send all complaints to mperry@obf.net)

  7. Chris, this is old news. It was slammed by Jessica Watson on SI last year.

    http://www.sharperiron.org/showpost.php?p=5569

  8. Good point. The only thing that will be burned are the works that we have done for self. As a matter of fact, the only thing being judged in that passage are our works. It is not even sin that will be judged because that has already been judged on the cross.

  9. QUOTE: Chris, this is old news….

    Maybe you aren’t as contemporary on Christian music as I thought! :)

  10. Hey, can you blame Greg for the trackback to SI?

  11. You know, if you guys would just stick to classic hymns, you would have these problems. :)

  12. Was that a Freudian slip?

  13. Chris, you’re gonna be lucky if you make it out of here and all that’s wrong with you is “burned and scarred.” :-)

  14. There was also a discussion on Sharper Iron about the Judgment Seat being a qusi-purgatory. But I doubt this is a wide spread belief in fundamentalism.

  15. I don’t think it is either, Micah.

    The point of the post is that we need to be as precise in our music as we are in our preaching. And we’re not, IMO.

    One more thing: if unbiblical words go by unnoticed (and I think they do, even in some “classic hymns”), it doesn’t say much for thoughtful worship, either.

  16. I just noticed in my copy of the “O Be Glad” Choral collection (on p. 75), that the main words there are “bowed in shame” with “burned and scarred” in parentheses below- FWIW.

  17. Now I know I really have to stay away from these blogs…gotta be related to that “christian hedonism” debate…:)

  18. hey, the smiley face didn’t work…tho’t I had that one down :)

  19. So, will this song be one of those things burned at bema?

    Is the song filled with it’s own eternal irony?

    What if the song’s authore takes it personal that God doesn’t like his theologically incorrect music, will this leave some kind of scar on emotions of his soul?

    How about this blog entry will be burned too?

  20. Or even the last comment…

    I’m not looking to insult anybody or go on a witch hunt. I’m calling for biblical accuracy…worship in truth. Seems reasonable enough.

    Greg, perhaps your comment indicates that it’s been addressed, at least for future publications. I hope so.

  21. So what’s new? Fundamentalists have been singing the Battle Hymn of the Republic for over a century. The Battle Hymn blatantly teaches a pantheistic transcendentalism. It’s pure unadulterated heresy! Yet, no one cares because it is traditional, a catchy tune and considered patriotic. It fits the Fundamentalist mindset even though it’s not Christian. So, I’ll gladly drop the offending WILDS music if you’ll drop the Battle Hymn of the Republic. How about it? ;-)

  22. A simple call to biblical accuracy has led you to a specific deconstruction of one poet’s expression of eschatology.

    It is also done in a public way (you’re “oops” indicates you didn’t want it to be this public) without offering any positive reconstruction. You certainly haven’t postured yourself to any positive exchange with the author. Maybe you do know the author who has been published with this song, maybe you have held back in sharing some of your personal exchanges? Maybe???

    Maybe I’m a bit innocent about your purpose for your blog. You have title it “my two cents.” It seems like thats what you hoped to do with this entry. Just a little hit and run action. “But don’t ask me to get into it further, becuase this is just a simple call for blather blather balther…”

    “Don’t have time to develop my own theological position. It’s just two cents”

    “Don’t have time to be poetic with eschatology myself, cause that would cost more than two pennies.”

    “Don’t have money to be theologically acurate in the way I confront a brother about what is sin, only have enough cents to publicly point out how wrong he is.”

    “Don’t need to worry about what it does to others, cause it’s only two pennies, and I don’t like carrying change around anyway.”

  23. "Mikey":

    1. Who are you?

    2. What business does a guy who posts with a first name and a bogus email (bogus@yahoo?) have charging me of "a little hit and run action." How hypocritical. I haven't "hit" and I'm not "running." My email is listed here. My face is on here. My real name is on here.

    3. The eschatology is wrong. That's what I said. As for my understanding of eschatology, I gave it: the Bema Seat will not be–cannot be–punitive. Christ suffered for our sins once for all. It's not even a debatable issue among the orthodox.

    4. I dealt with a publically-sold but erroneous song in a public forum. If I were afraid of my post being public, I wouldn't have posted it. I've offered a public critique of a public error. And I've done so in a careful and (IMO) gracious manner. (You might take notes on how to do that.)

    5. "Maybe" you should quit psycho-analyzing me and guessing about my motives. "Maybe??"

    6. Sure I'm "worried about what it does to others." That's why I posted. I'm urging Christians to be biblically accurate. That's important, especially when an individual's or institution's influence is extremely broad. And, BTW, I practically "gushed" over how much I appreciate and admire the institution that published the song. I love the WILDS, and I love the Scriptures (as do they, of course).

    Your post is ridiculous. Troll somewhere else.

  24. I find a lot of this hilarious. Go through the hymnbooks in most fundamental churches. I have seen everything from a song called “The Royal Telephone” to “In the Garden”….”He walks with me and talks with me and tells me I am his own…” Come on!! When was the last time a truly doctrinal hymn was written? We are quick to attack all contemporary music but some of the most doctrinal music I’ve seen in recent years falls in the contemporary category.

  25. This thread is getting “hotter” than it needs to be. It’s not even controversial.

    Bob,

    I’m not “quick to attack all contemporary music.” I listed quite a bit that I appreciate–all of it from this same publisher–in my first paragraph.

    I’m also not defending doctrinally deficient hymns. I agree that much of what we sing is shallow. To the best of my knowledge, we avoid those songs in the church I pastor. I’ve also tried my hand at writing a doctrinally-sound hymn, and I’d encourage others to do the same. It’s tougher than it may seem, and I’m not saying that what I’ve done is any good. But we need to have biblical hymns–written for congregations–produced by conscientious students of the Word in our own day.

    Anyway, why is pointing out a doctrinal error “hilarious”? Because there are songs in our hymnals that have errors, too? Do you suggest that we just shrug & keep singing what is scripturally groundless?

    Perhaps a better solution would be to raise the bar, regardless of whether a song is old or new.

  26. Wow folks, a little testy aren’t we? First off, the lyrics were written by a then high-school student. Second, as soon as the Wilds was made aware that this wasn’t biblical, they changed it. Unfortunately this was after “Press On” was already finished. But on other recordings with that song and in the print music the words have been changed. Also, I believe it was performed last summer at the Wilds at least once, and they changed the words there as well.

    We’re not perfect, here, folks :) As soon as the error was found, they did their best to correct it. Now, as soon as some of you theologians out there (I use the term with respect) start writing music as good as the musicians at the Wilds, then you can start critiquing the fact that they might not be as well-studied as you when it comes to theology :)

  27. I’m glad to know of the change, Joey. Thanks for posting.

    I hope that you understand, friend, that calling for biblically-sound music is not mean-spirited, or at least was not intended to be. Doctrinal accuracy should be a bare minimum, whether one is a musician, teacher, pastor, whatever. We’re in a dangerous place when we start shrugging off error, regardless of our calling. I’m just urging carefulness, and I think most fundamentalists–including my good friends at the WILDS–desire no less.

    Again, thanks for the post. And (as I think I’ve said once or twice) I love the WILDS and appreciate their music ministry.

  28. Greg,

    All of this would have gone over much better if your “filings” listing at SI had said “Chris Anderson loves the WILDS and enjoys their music, but has a concern over a song on one of their CD’s, though he’s actually a super nice guy who has 4 sweet daughters and would never try to lambaste anybody.”

    This is your fault.

  29. Chris-

    I totally see where you are coming from and agree with you and some of the others here that much of today’s [acceptable] Christian music is either doctrinally weak or non-existent – sometimes being no better than a shallow, feelings-oriented “Fundo-pop”. It’s nice to see someone else that’s concerned about this, and even better to know that the WILDS caught the mistake, repaired it, and moved on. Hopefully, they and many other music publishing houses will learn from the error.

  30. Chris,

    I accept the blame. I’ve inserted an asterisk for you at the original post linking back to the description of yourself.

    http://www.sharperiron.org/2006/05/26/hot-tunes/

    I’m sure everything will be better now! :)

  31. Chris,
    We are in agreement here. I certainly don’t think pointing out doctrinal error in our music is hilarious. I do think it is a sizable task. This whole debate over music is what is hilarious. So much of the music we sing in our churches hints at works salvation, falling from grace, etc. I am not a CCM fan at all but have heard a few of these new songs that really have a solid doctrinal base and are very conservatively composed. To go on record, I am a big fan of Wilds music and we sing a lot of it in our church. I have always encouraged people to look at each piece of Christian music individually and not cast an entire genre out. Funny, I grew up on southern gospel and have heard pastors who are into southern gospel attack traditional, classical Christian hymns as being dead, high church music and then attack CCM as being shallow and to much like rock and then go crazy over lines like “walking up the milky way.” That is hilarious!! And by the way, I enjoy some southern gospel too! Good luck writing your hymns. We haven’t seen many written since the Ira Sankey era began.

  32. Told you it was all Greg’s fault!

    As to the “Battle Hymn of the Republic”, I am in total agreement with paidagogos. It was written by a Universalist, as was the song “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear”. Just plain blather! Unfortunately, every Memorial Day celebration at Peniel Bible Camp, it seems whichever choir is performing that day, they inevitably sing that song…”Rrrrump, Rrrrump, Rrrrrump…Miiiiine Eeeeyes have seeeen the Gloooory ooooof the Cooooming ooooof the Looooord…” Get the duct tape…Mine Heeeead is goooona explooooode toooday, aaaaand I wooooon’t stop it!”

    So, there’s a “plop-plop-fizz-fizz” moment for you!

  33. Speaking of decaf…

  34. Many of you know that I am the program director here at the Wilds. Matter of fact, I would greatly appreciate your prayers as we prepare for our summer ministry. Today we start our staff training with 225 summer staff members. We have over 11,000 people signed up for camp this summer. Praise the Lord. Please pray that we will be useful vessles in His service to the many who are coming. (sorry to ramble)

    Regarding this song, I think it has been clarified as to what happened with the song. Sometimes things (the phrase in question) get through our “clearing house” that we wish hadn’t made it through. Several people, including myself, heard the words and had a problem with it and then it was quickly changed. We are continually working to make sure that our music is scripturally accurate and musically uplifting.

    In the future, or even right now, please feel free to email me directly if you have a question or concern regarding something here at the Wilds. I would be more than happy to give a very straight forward answer. :) May the Lord bless you all as you continue in your service for Him.

    Matt Herbster

  35. Thanks, Matt, for your kind reply, both here and via email. I’ve appreciated your friendship, your ministry and your gracious spirit since we traveled together. Though the song is obviously a problem as recorded on Press On, and though it is an example of our need to be careful about doctrinal precision, knowing that it’s been addressed makes a big difference. I’m relieved to hear it, though I should not be surprised. I apologize for not asking first. You’re in a very public and visible ministry, and you handle it in an exemplary fashion. Thank you for that.

    I trust that you’ll see the Lord do tremendous things this summer, Matt. I’m honored to call you a friend.

    Psalm 115:1

  36. I just hate it when we have to pick things apart for theological accuracy… Can’t we all just get along? But will all seriousness, I am greatly appreciative of this post. How often do we sing and let our minds wonder as our mouth releases words never thoughtfully considered? Every once in awhile I’ll be singing a hymn and it will hit me – this is wrong! Sometimes as fundamentalists, we tend to focus not on words, but rant and rave about beat and rthymn (however it is spelled…). We look at the vehicle and almost take for granted the message. Thanks for the post!

  37. Matt,

    I’m wondering- why not just let your constituency know about the mistake and why you made the change, rather than expecting everyone who happens to notice come to you for the explanation? In my mind, it would increase the respect and trust- when you see a problem, you’re willing to go the extra mile to make things right.

    I understand it was changed, and appreciate that it was. However, if Chris notices it (and posts), you have to think that there are many others who have noticed but haven’t posted or contacted you.

    While people should come to you- they often don’t. Changing the words is a good step- but not everyone would understand why if no one explains it. I see it as a great potential teaching opportunity. Put it in the next Wilds newsletter- put it on the web- but get it out there.

    Transparency is a good thing. Something to consider.

  38. Greg,

    I’m not really sure I understand the tone of your email, Greg. Ah, but yes, the joy of blogging.

    I’m not “expecting everyone who happens to notice to come to me” for an explanation. I also understand there are others who have noticed and that is why I posted on a blog. (something I’m getting more and more tired of doing)

    I also understand transparency is a good thing, Greg. Nobody is trying to hide anything.

    I actually think your suggestion of how to correct these kinds of things in the future is a very good suggestion. I will definitely keep that in mind.

    Thanks for the comments, Greg.

    Matt

  39. I appreciate your response, Matt.

    What I was trying to say is if this mistake was acknowledged more widely than Chris’s blog- though obviously the most discerning readers (and Doug) check it religiously :D – perhaps this post would have never been made.

    A more widespread public acknowledgement/explanation would 1. inform some who are not even aware of the doctrinal problem and 2. caution musicians to be more careful with doctrinal matters in selecting (or even writing) hymns and songs.

  40. lol

  41. Other than the unfortunate terminology of being “burned and scared,” I wonder if anyone else has issues with the general premise of this song? I don’t have any lyrics for this song other than what Chris posted, so what I’m about to say could be off-base, but I pretty sure that I don’t take 1 Corinthians 3 the same way this song does. I think this passage is talking about teachers and the doctrines they promote rather than believers in general and the works that they do. The context of the passage is local church teaching ministry. I would agree with Charles Hodge, who says about verses 14 and 15 that, “the apostle is here speaking of those teachers who, although they retain the fundamental doctrines of the gospel, yet combine them with error…”

  42. A friendly barb there, Gregory? :) (I hope)

  43. Andy,

    Another friend made the same or at least a very similar comment regarding I Cor. 3 being particularly “ministerial.”

    How would you correlate I Cor. 3 and II Cor. 5? Are they speaking of the same event? Who is the “all” of II Cor. 5:10?

  44. Chris, Don’t you know that all means all and that’s all all means? :)

    According to Thomas Schreiner, it means all without exception and that this judgment determines one’s final reward, whether Heaven or Hell. The good things done in the body are those things that accompany salvation (cf., Heb. 6:7-10; James 2). I am inclined to agree with Schreiner but I have not studied this matter carefully enough to be dogmatic.

    As far as the correlation between 1 Cor. 3 and 2 Cor. 5, I would say that I don’t know.

  45. I say this without necessarily trying to bash the WILDS. But I am, I think, more offended by the trite nature of the text of the chorus (without hearing the tune) and the title than the slip in eschatology. Eternal destruction and God’s judgment should never be spoken of so glibly as if it’s “gonna’ burn.” Again, I hope this is taken in the spirit in which it is meant. I hope the WILDS can take the lead and move away from these kinds of songs.

  46. Of couse, Douglas… :D

  47. Andy,

    So you see I Cor. 3 addressing ministers, but not every believer. And you see II Cor. 5’s judgment as identical with Rev. 20’s.

    Am I understanding you correctly?

  48. Chirs,

    I feel more confident about 1 Cor. 3 than I do how all the judgments fit together. Right now, I would say, yes, it appears that those two passages are describing the same judgment, although 2 Cor. 5 seems to be emphasizing believers and Rev. 20 unbelievers. I know combining those judgments is not standard dispensational thought, so I am willing to be corrected, but I don’t see anything on the surface that would prevent them from being the same.

  49. Interesting. I need to run, so I can’t discuss it now. But to be safe, I wouldn’t publish a song just yet if I were you. :-)

  50. I’ve not read or heard any of the text of this song other than what Chris posted, and I am not defending the song per se, but the attacks on the song itself haven’t included much exegesis of 1 Corinthians 3:14-15; “(14) If any man’s work abide which he hath built thereupon, he shall receive a reward. (15) If any man’s work shall be burned, he shall suffer loss: but he himself shall be saved; yet so as by fire.”

    Anyone who has seen pictures/videos of people who were rescued from a fire knows that they look liked they’ve been through quite an ordeal. “Scarred and burned” sounds pretty tough to me, and I might not use the same phrase, but it’s not that big a stretch from Paul’s own expression in 1 Cor 3:15 from what I can tell.

    Is there another way to interpret the final phrase (“shall be saved; yet so as by fire”) in way other than the plain meaning. Saying that the passage applies only to teachers who introduce falsehoods is weak (sorry, Hodge, vs 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18 all make broad appeals to include everyone), but even if the passage is for only teachers, that doesn’t solve the problem…some (according to Hodge, the teachers) will still have the experience of being “saved; yet as by fire.”

    For those who don’t like the phrase “burned and scarred”, how else would you describe or rephrase being “saved, yet as by fire”? You need to have more than a systematic theological conclusion on a topic to explain why you don’t use a normal hermeneutic for a particular passage.

  51. Chris–I posted the above comment before it was ready, and I’m not prepared to defend everything there. Please feel free to delete it if you want (everyone else can ignore it). I hereby resolve not to jump into extended blog conversations before 8am…

  52. Ted,

    Since Hodge is not in a position to defend himself, let me say that the “reward” in verse 14 seems to be an obvious reference back to the “wages” in verse 8. I’m pretty sure they are the same Greek word. That section back in verse 8 refers to the various leaders, such as Apollos and Paul, who ministered to the Corinthian church. It is obvious to me, at least, that the rewards spoken of in verse 14 would be for those same types of ministers, those who build on the foundation laid by Paul. I would then see verses 16 and 17 as referring to the Corinthian church as God’s temple and the warning to ministers not to destroy that local church by inappropriate “building” or teaching. The broad appeal that you mention in those verses simply means, IMO, that this is a general principle to be applied to ministers in all local churches, not just the one in Corinth.

    As to “saved, yet as by fire,” I read one commentary that said it meant “saved with difficulty.” That doesn’t see quite right to me. I’m not sure how I would explain that phrase at this point.

    Sorry for not ignoring your post. It didn’t seem unreasonable to me at all.

  53. Ted,

    Email me your post as you’d like it to appear, and I’ll clean up what’s here. I’ll look into the passage more. I’m not certain, however, why applying a systematic theological conclusion to a difficult-to-understand passage is out of bounds. Indeed, I think it’s essential, especially when we are discussing something as crucial as the wrath of God being experienced by the redeemed (if indeed that is how one with a “burned and scarred” position would take this).

    Interesting conversation. I’ll look forward to reading your post, friend.

  54. FWIW, when I took Corinthian Epistles at BJU, we were taught that 1 Cor 3 applied to preachers. I can’t remember who taught the class, as I scan through my notes, I think it was Minnick. … oh, man, look at my papers! not very good!!!

    Anyway, this was NT 515, so I took it in grad school, my first semester at it, I think.

    Regards,
    Don Johnson
    Jer 33.3

  55. I think I will correct myself on the teacher. I am pretty sure it was Jesse Boyd. Minnick came in to give us a lecture a class or two when Pastor Boyd was away. This was the spring of 1980.

    My memory improved but my papers didn’t!!

    Regards,
    Don Johnson
    Jer 33.3

  56. […] I thought the following quotation from Dr. Leonard Payton deserving of our attention, especially in light of the conversation we recently had here on the importance of theological accuracy in Christian music. Payton writes: "[T]he apostle James warned, 'Let not many of you become teachers, my brethren, knowing that as such we shall incur a stricter judgment' (3:1). Worship music teaches whether or not we want it to do so. It behooves us, therefore, to approach the writing of worship music texts with as much theological clarity and as much linguistic skill as possible." […]

  57. Sorry to revisit this old thread but Pastor Harding posted an excellent exposition of 1 Cor 3 over on SharperIron that lines up with what I was trying to say here concerning the purpose of that passage.

  58. I agree with Ted Miller. The phrase “so as by fire” has always seemed to me that the Christians whose works do not abide will almost have his house burned down around him, as it were. If I escaped from a burning house, I think I would consider myself lucky to be only “burned and scarred.” Those are the words I sing when I sing the song, but I have no problem with other people singing the “bowed in shame” lyrics. I know no one has posted on this blog since last August, but I just happened to come across it.

    Feel free to rip me apart,as I am only a Bible College student and probably know nothing yet. :)

  59. I am thankful for this post as I was looking for the lyrics to give to our Pastor’s Son who is in charge of the music, Children’s Choir and Chime Choir. We are a very conservative, Independant, Fundamental, Baptist Church and this saved me much grief I am sure. Just so anyone wonders if this post (2 cents or not) helped anyone. It did! I agree wholeheartedly that we are to take our praises unto the Lord serious. I appreciate the work that all have put into making sure we have Goodly music to sing for our Lord!
    God Bless!
    Nikki

  60. Everything is very open with a really clear clarification of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your website is useful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  61. Most of these eating plan put together by those who earn more money than those
    who know the true knowledge of how our human body.
    You can either get it from fish or from certain nuts and
    seeds. Repeated every few weeks this will help
    your goal setting and motivation as you see your results progress.

  62. Dear friends and fellow believers. The song is not teaching that we will be burned physically. But our works that are done in the flesh and our own might will be burned. It will be the wood, hay, and stubble that is consumed at Christ’s judgment seat. The Christians will present themselves and there deeds on earth. Would God honor us for working in our flesh? How does He receive any glory from that. He hasn’t done the work. We have! And that will have no eternal place in heaven. There will be tears I believe at that place for many of us if not all of us when we realize how close to being empty-handed we are. But God in his love will wipe away those tears, saying “enter into the joy of the Lord.” The song is exhorting us to make every second on life count for God. How? By simply surrendering your life to Him. NOT by trying harder to be a good person. We can never succeed! That will be burned up. But what we accomplish through Christ’s power will be the gold and precious gems. That is all I have to say. I am not attempting to berate or be “holier than thou”. May Christ bless you in your walk with him.

  63. This year the Christians will present themselves and there deeds on earth. Happy New Year

  64. I am afraid that you have an Oprah-like view of the scriptures. Just because a doctrine is foreign to or not to your personal interpretation, you (like she) choose to reject it.

    What the song “Is It Gonna Burn?” Is NOT extra-biblical; it is soundly rooted in the Word.
    Please let me direct you to 1 Corinthians 3:9-17

    For we are labourers together with God: ye are God’s husbandry, ye are God’s building.
    According to the grace of God which is given unto me, as a wise masterbuilder, I have laid the foundation, and another buildeth thereon. But let every man take heed how he buildeth thereupon.
    For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ.
    Now if any man build upon this foundation gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, stubble;
    Every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is.
    If any man’s work abide which he hath built thereupon, he shall receive a reward.
    If any man’s work shall be burned, he shall suffer loss: but he himself shall be saved; yet so as by fire.
    Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you?
    If any man defile the temple of God, him shall God destroy; for the temple of God is holy, which temple ye are.

    No one saved by their works, however, we as believers will be judged by the works we do (or do not do) for the Kingdom.
    This passage … like the song … does not deal with a person getting into Heaven; they deal with a Christian’s reward(s) when they get to Heaven.
    The works that we do in the flesh are “wood, hay, stubble” and because they have no value, they will be burned away in God’s refining fire.
    The works that we do in the strength of the Lord and for His Glory are “gold, silver, precious stones” have eternal value, and will be refined in His holy fire to become even more pure. “Well done, faithful servant”
    For the one who squanders his Christian life, and stands before the Lord with little but “wood, hay and stubble”, his meager works will all be consumed as meaningless, but “he shall himself be saved.”

    What the song … and the passage … challenges the believer to do is to make their salvation sure and “by the mercies of God, present your body as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” (Romans 12:1-2)

  65. Hi! Can you send me the whoke kyrics please. Thank you!! God bless.

  66. Hi! Can you send me the whole lyrics please. Thank you!! God bless.

Leave a Reply

