Help for Fighting Lust: A Meditation Plan (4 of 5)

The following is a guest post by Joe Tyrpak, Assistant Pastor of Tri-County Bible Church in Madison, Ohio. In part 1 of his meditation plan he suggested that we “Call to mind the deceptions of sinful sensuality.” In part 2 he suggested that we “Call to mind the destructions of sinful sensuality.” In part 3 he considered the joys of God-ordained sensuality. Now he moves to his fourth point.

_____

Meditation Plan (Part #4): CALL TO MIND THE EYES OF GOD.

I have found that my practical atheism is never stronger than when I’m in the throes of sexual sin. In those moments, God’s existence matters very little to me. When Solomon reminded his son that “the ways of a man are before the eyes of the Lord” (Prov. 5:20), he was reminding him of the presence of God as well as the coming judgment of God. Based on this thought, I strategically plan to meditate on my relationship with God in two ways.

First, I remember that God is my Always-Present Judge. This is the primary idea behind Solomon’s reasoning in Prov. 5:20. He’s basically saying, “Son, realize that God is evaluating you and that you will give an account to Him.” Although it’s helpful to call to mind the first three concepts (i.e., deceptions, destructions, delights), this is really the only consideration that should matter: what does God want me to do? This is the fear of the Lord. This is living with a continual concern for what God is thinking about me. The fruit of remembering the eyes of God is consistent submission to His counsel (5:1-2, 7, 12-13; 6:20-23; 7:1-4, 24).

Because God has already judged Jesus for my sins, I do not motivate myself to purity by fearing potential condemnation. However, I do remind myself that one day I will stand before the judgment seat of Christ so that I might “receive what is due [me] for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad” (2 Cor. 5:10). The fact that I will one day stand before the One who loved me and gave himself for me should translate into a lifelong desire to live for Him and please Him in every respect.

Second, I remember that God is my Always-Present Creator. Even though this isn’t the main idea of Prov. 5:20, it is closely connected with remembering whose eyes are evaluating me. All my thoughts and actions are continually being observed and evaluated by the Lord who made me. In the midst of sexual temptation, I have found a degree of help in recalling the implications of God as Creator. Here are some of the mental paths I have walked down, all of them quite elementary:

1. God created me and everyone else. He made humans, and He made our bodies. I have found that this really basic thought strikes an axe to the root of sexual temptation. This is because, at its core, sexual temptation is idolatry; it’s a deification of myself and a dethroning of God.

2. God created us in his own image. This encourages me to have a biblical perspective of people. They are not merely bodies. They are persons, and they reflect something of God’s personal and interpersonal nature. Sexual sin always evidences and increases a cheapening of human dignity because it views precious imagebearers as little more than physical or emotional toys that exist for my pleasure. Sexual sin, especially for men, is often animalistically impersonal (women are often nothing more than bodies in pictures or videos) and disgustingly popular (many men are often attracted to the same pictures and videos). Women are not viewed as people created in God’s image bearing who will live somewhere forever; they’re just things. On the other hand, sex according to God’s design actually increases personal dignity. People treat each other (and their bodies) as creations of God that have eternal significance. This leads to a prizing, respecting, and valuing of individuals and sexuality.

3. God created marriage and “creates” every true marriage. Marriage was God’s idea, and He is the one who joins every husband and wife together in a one-flesh union (Matt. 19:6). In sexual temptation, I find it helpful to remember that God designed marriage, and that God is the one who has joined my wife and me together.

4. God created sexual arousal and intercourse. He created sex to express and enhance marital pleasure and oneness. He also created it to have the precious result of children. In the throes of sexual temptation, I often ignore God’s intended purposes for sex, and thereby cheapen and abuse it.

5. God’s creation was good. “And God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good” (Gen. 1:31). His whole creation was beautiful and beneficial. His design for sexuality is the same. It is truly good because it is inexpressibly beautiful (Prov. 30:18-19) and totally other-centered.

6. As the Creator of the body, marriage and sex, God has the right to “write the instruction manual.” Not only does God have that right, but He also knows best. Following God’s “instruction manual” will lead to the greatest good for me and others, in the same way that paying attention to a product’s manual will result in the greatest usefulness of that product.

In the midst of sexual temptation I often find myself minimizing God, His terrifying and rightful authority, His loving goodness, etc. Calling to mind “the eyes of the Lord” is a deliberate attempt to kill such minimization.

_____

Previous posts in this series:

6 Responses

  1. Thanks, Joe, for your work on these. I appreciate very much your transparency and biblical practicality. Excellent.

  2. […] of sinful sensuality.” In part 3 he considered the joys of God-ordained sensuality. In part 4 he reminded us of the ever-present eyes of God. Now he concludes the meditation […]

  3. […] Help for Fighting Lust: A Meditation Plan (4 of 5, Joe Tyrpak) […]

  4. Thanks for the great info dog I owe you biggtiy.

Leave a Reply

