• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

What I’m Reading: A Gospel Primer for Christians

A Gospel PrimerPastor Milton Vincent’s booklet, A Gospel Primer for Christians has been recommended to me a number of times. I finally read it, and my response is this: I don’t think I’ve ever been as edified and encouraged by a non-inspired work as I was by the Primer. It’s exceptional. And at this point, it’s free. You can download it as a pdf here.

A Gospel Primer has three parts. Part 1 gives you the opportunity to eavesdrop as a pastor who understands the gospel preaches it to his own heart. That’s the gist of the whole book: that Christians need to re-preach the gospel to themselves every day. His brief meditations, loosely organized under topical headings, will instruct you and move you to worship.

Part 2 tells the gospel story—literally. It’s arranged as prose. Part 3 recites the gospel poem—again, literally. It covers the same material a third time, this time in poetic form. To be honest, when it was first described to me, I was suspect, imagining that it would be redundant at best, hokey at worst. It is neither. Each section was a pleasure to read.

My recommendations:

1. Print it out. I took the trouble to cut the pages in half and put it in a small 3-ring binder.

2. Read it with a pen in hand.

3. Read it in one sitting. It’s short. The first time through, move quickly to get the overall idea.

4. Return to it and review it section by section, especially focusing on how the biblical texts are expounded.

5. Internalize it. Learn from Pastor Vincent’s example. Learn to meditate on the gospel on a daily basis.

6. Improve on it. What I mean is, learn how to preach the gospel to yourself, for yourself.

If there is a dominating thought in my life right now it is this: we have for too long relegated the gospel to being a message for the lost. It’s not. The entire NT is essentially the gospel explained and applied, and it is obvious that the NT was written for Christians. The gospel is both the milk and the meat of the word. The gospel is the source of both spiritual birth and spiritual life. The gospel is the heartbeat of Christian living, without exception. Until we realize this, we’re doomed to pseudo-sanctification by mere will power, which will invariably lead to spiritual failure and self-condemnation.

In the future, I’ll try to post the highlights of our midweek series for the summer: “The Gospel for Every Day Life.” We started it tonight, and it was a great blessing. We also distributed copies of A Gospel Primer. Again, I’ll try to put the installments of the series up as I’m able.

It’s all about the gospel, friends. Learn that, then shout it from the housetops.

Thank you, Pastor Vincent, for this excellent resource.

________

Note: I’ve recently shared similar thoughts on the gospel’s application to Christians here and here.

5 Responses

  1. Hey Chris,
    Several weeks ago heading home to my grandfather’s funeral, I read the gospel primer by Pastor Vincent that you had mentioned before. I had printed out the whole thing and read it on the airplane. Amen. It was a real blessing and I want to do it again. I have been thinking about preaching a message here in Mexico about that same theme and even trying to translate the points at the end to meditate on for the people here. Is that legal?

  2. Mike,
    I’d contact Milton directly via his website (http://www.cornerstonebible.org) to ask about translating it. I know (recently speaking with his younger brother) that his heart is that this get in the hands of more people. The cost for hard copies appears to be just a suggested donation on their website.

    Chris, thanks for the encouragement to study this. The way my “everyday life” is going recently, I need the Gospel more than ever.

    Tim

  3. while it is no longer free, the price is definitely reasonable. you can order it at http://www.focuspublishing.com/index.html Thank you for directing me to this book.

  4. Hey Chris,
    A pastor just gave this book to me today! I’m really looking forward to digesting it as you’ve suggested. Blessings, brother.
    Ken Heizer

Leave a comment