• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

Blog Links: Ohio to Illinois to Michigan to Ohio

Typing FingersDuring halftime of Dan's ordination, I had lunch with a man who has been attending the church Dan pastors for about 6 months. Nothing strange about that. But then I asked him how he found the church, and he laughed and said that it's quite a story. He wasn't kidding. Here's the summary:

  • He's looking for a church on-line after his own went the way of Rick Warm-n-Fuzzy
  • He comes across Scott Aniol's site ("have I heard of him?") due to Scott's posting of a hymn text he was looking for.
  • He finds his way from there to Scott's church's site.
  • He notices their affiliation with DBTS, so he goes to their site.
  • He goes from DBTS's site to Inter-City's site.
  • While checking out Inter-City's missionaries, he notices that an alumnus of DBTS is pastoring a new church in Orwell, about 25 miles from where he lives.

To borrow a phrase from Paul Harvey, "and now you know the rest of the story."

Is the internet cool, or what?!

7 Responses

  1. Let me see if I follow this correctly-

    Mr Greenfield kickbacks to Pastor Anderson for his ordination…hmmm
    The parishoner finds the church via websites on the net…hmmm

    So if I send in my $25 bucks, or start my own website, can I get my MDiv and go to a really cool church too, or better yet, pastor one? (how do we do the smiley faces?)

    These stories are way cool! Congrats to both!

  2. Sorry. I deleted somewhere between 10 and 50 posts in which Dale was trying to do a smiley face. Funny.

    Dale, just stare at your computer & smile really hard. See how that works.

    If it doesn't, try : – )  or : – D  (but without spaces between them, and not at the beginning of a line). :-)  :-D

  3. Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord. Our son graduated last night with his AAS in computer science. He’s still working on his BS at the local university (actually, a combined BS to MS), but what he said yesterday warms my soul (and let us boast in the Lord). He was offered a high paying IT position a couple of weeks ago with, of all places, Planned Parenthood. Yesterday, just prior to our going to his ceremony at the auditorium, he said that God had called on him to deny the job as he could not compromise his faith. Praise be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit. If there is one thing in which I may boast, it is to see my son walking in the ways of faith.

    Sorry it took me a while to get back to all, I just returned from the airport where my wife had an early flight on a business trip. After the celebration re our son’s college degree, and the few hours of sleep, I think I’m heading to bed for a short nap :).

  4. Hey, it works! And I don’t need my son to help me with this :) :)

  5. Dale,

    I’ll be praying for your son, and I’m glad to hear of his decision. He certainly did the right thing.
    _____

    Dan,

    Since this thread is about the church you have planted, how about a “thumbnail sketch” of what the Lord is doing there?

Leave a comment