Authority and Affection PDF

I’m preaching a very brief series on Christian Leadership using Paul’s address to the Ephesian elders in Acts 20:17-38 as a springboard. I’m not preaching verse by verse through the wonderful passage, but simply addressing the topic of leadership by highlighting Paul’s example of Character, Affection, and Instruction. The first two messages can be found here.

As part of the study on the leader’s affection I referred to a diagram used by Dr. Jim Berg when I was a student at BJU. It made a profound mark on my thinking regarding both the home and the church. Dr. Berg calls leaders to express/exercise both authority and affection, and he warns about the dangers of showing either/or. His diagram (which I’ve only slightly adapted) communicates the concept efficiently and effectively. Here’s a PDF of the presentation I used to explain the idea Sunday. (By the way, the presentation was put together by my affectionate oldest daughter.) :)

I’m grateful for Dr. Berg’s influence on my life and ministry.

3 Responses

  1. How does gospel enter the mix? (Thinking particularly about the parenting paradigm in the PDF.)

  2. Hey, Ben. This post focuses on a thin slice of parenting/leadership, certainly not the whole. I mentioned (when I preached) the role of the gospel in producing/enabling character and affection, but the third message of this series will focus explicitly on “instruction,” where the gospel will be central. So this isn’t everything I believe about parenting/leadership, just an important part.

  3. […] often in this “seminar” of the importance of character and affection (as I noted in this post). He roots spiritual influence both in the leader’s integrity (“you know me” […]

Leave a Reply

