• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

    • "Tact is the art of making a point without making an enemy." (Isaac Newton) 16 hours ago
    • "Why does God have to punish sin? Because he's so good. Why does God want to forgive sin? Because he's so good." (Tim Keller) @timkellernyc 16 hours ago
    • The Christian life is commenced, continued, and completed by grace. #grace 4 days ago
    • Everyone treats superiors well. How you treat those under you (a waiter, an employee, an underclassmen, an outcast) reveals your character. 2 weeks ago
    • "Tolerance is the world's substitute for grace." @randyalcorn 2 weeks ago
  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

Dan Forrest’s Choral CDs

I was thinking recently about the prominence of Dan Forrest’s music in my home and church. Before I knew who Dan was I was enjoying his Christmas solo CD, Prepare Him Room, and I love the quiet medativity (which should be a word, but isn’t) of his Communion solo CD, In Remembrance. (Both of those recordings are demos of piano solo books, available here.) I’ve appreciated his choral work, both in print and on CDs. I’ve had the privilege of working with him on a few choral pieces (His Robes for Mine and Holy, Mighty, Worthy). That’s not even close to being an exhaustive list of his church music. Beyond enjoying his work, I got to fellowship with Dan over a college football game a while back, and he’s a mostly normal guy. (Go Buckeyes!) So I’m both a friend and a fan.

I haven’t been nearly as familiar with his concert music—pieces you might hear at a concert at Carnegie Hall, the Lincoln Center, or the Kennedy Center (literally!). I’ve heard bits and pieces over the years, but I was glad to purchase two recent CDs that highligh some of his art music. Never a Brighter Star is a Christmas choral project recently recorded in Salt Lake City; The Music of Living contains live performances of some of his concert choral pieces from recent years. Both are beautifully done, demonstrating the abilities that have made Dan such a powerful influence in choral music. If you’re a fan of music that inspires and stretches you, you’ll enjoy these CDs. Hear demos or download them from Amazon. Order from Dan’s site (which is running a Christmas sale). See a video overview below:

Leave a Reply

