Gluten-Free Grace

Well, it’s around 2:30 pm on Thanksgiving Day 2010. The only thing fuller than my stomach is my heart. I ate and ate and ate, starting at 1:00 pm. It was the best meal I’ve ever had, bar none. No hyperbole there. Unbelievable. All home-made. All gluten-free, since I have Celiac Disease. All made this morning.

What was on the menu?

  • The perfect turkey. Twenty pounds of tender poultry paradise.
  • Mashed potatoes. Ida-Ho-My-Goodness. From scratch.
  • Killer gravy. Lumpless loveliness. From scratch.
  • Sweet potato casserole. Decadent and dessert-like. From scratch.
  • Green beans almondine. It’s an onion-free, soup-free casserole for grown-ups. From scratch.
  • Apple sauce. Sassy. From scratch.
  • Fluffy dinner rolls. Yes, I said fluffy. From scratch.
  • Fluffier pumpkin bread. That’s amazing. Try baking anything fluffy sans gluten. Good luck. From scratch.
  • Apple pie. Home-made crust on bottom, crumble crust on top. From scratch.

No kidding. And all of it was made today. Like, since sunrise. All by a mother of 4 who arrived at the table looking like she came straight off a runway. All frazzle-free, made in one peace-filled, sing-songy morning. All crafted with caramelized affection by a lady whose great passion in life is serving her  daughters and her less-than-healthy husband. She lives for this. She always has, but ever since I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease, she’s been on a mission to take care of me and make me forget that I’m missing a thing. She’s one of a kind. Unrivaled (Proverbs 31:29).

Every good gift comes to us from our heavenly Father, James 1:17 tells us. Today’s meal of embarrassing abundance is but one evidence that the greatest gift of grace God has given me after my Savior is my lovely wife. Thank you, Lori. I praise you (Proverbs 31:28). I love you. I thank God for you.

Grace.

5 Responses

  1. I probably should get some pics up. But I’m too full to move. :)

  2. Your description was a delight to read, as I am sure was every morsel of the food itself. As one who knows the uncommon blessing of fluffiness in a gluten free world, I praise your precious wife! Wonderful. I’d love her bread recipes.

  3. Wow, Chris! Such praise would make all the work worth it for a loving wife. Kudos to you for appreciating her and to Lori for expressing her love with such a wonderful meal.

  4. Chris,

    Thanks for sharing this delightful piece of your personal life.

    We used your Psalm 115 Hymn at our Praise Service on Wednesday, and our folks love it. Thanks for sharing these great hymns with others.

    Gratefully,
    Greg

  5. She needs to make a cookbook! It is hard finding things like that.

Leave a Reply

