• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

I Think I’m Gonna Throw Up

This almost seems too blasphemous to be real. Unfortunately, it’s not. Terrible.

(HT: Scott Aniol)

22 Responses

  1. Sung with motions, of course. As a children’s pastor I can just picture how that will work.

  2. OK, I confess…I was laughing until the final 10 seconds. Then I was perturbed. This reminds me of a song a pastor (or was it an evangelist?) wrote and taught us while I was in Bible college. The words went something like: “Kids grow up, kids grow up. If you put the right things in them, you’ll be sure it will come up….” You can imagine how all the college students changed the words. The song was laughable anyway–or perhaps I should say, sad.

    Unfortunately, I can imagine some so-called fundamental churches using this song–right along with “Father Abraham.” After all, songs with good doctrinal content can’t possibly be fun–and all children’s songs must be fun, right? [Please read with sarcasm.]

  3. Well, from where I’m sitting, they got the title right.

  4. I couldn’t finish it. I thought I was going to throw up just listening to that worthless tripe.

  5. Just when you thought children’s music couldn’t get any lower…

  6. Thanks for sharing. I searched and searched but could not find this at Church Works. What’s the deal?

    (I’m still confused, however, about the massive attack on Father Abraham.)

  7. Almost reminds me of our choir director, long ago, who led a large congregation of thousands in “It Is Well” and before the last verse, interjected,

    “Now let’s sing out loud strong on that last verse … MY SIN, OOOOOOOOOOOOH THE BLLLISSSSS!!!!”

  8. Thanks so much for leading me into sinful thoughts, not to mention that the tune will now be stuck in my head for the next several days. I know, “put away all bitterness and wrath…” (tongue firmly planted in cheek). Can we add this to the “deep and wide” genre of music or is it too banal even to be mentioned with it? Amazing that someone would even think of those lyrics as being spiritually profitable. Surely this is not a real children’s praise song.

  9. Copyright issues prohibit us form posting it at CWM.

    As far as how low we can go, Father Abraham and Deep and Wide are Watts-like by comparison. This is the worst I’ve heard. Ugh.

  10. Where’s the blasphemy in that? I would think that if a kid is in sunday school singing that, at least he’s in sunday school and has an opportunity to hear the gospel. It’s definitely not as blasphemous as pride.

  11. And you know you’ve got quality poetry on your hands when “hurl” becomes a two-syllable word in order to make the chorus work. Or perhaps it’s just a Southern-ism.

    BTW, my favorite quote regarding ‘Father Abraham’ was when a friend referred to it as “the Christian Hokey-Pokey.”

  12. Good question, Anon. Where is the blasphemy? A little irreverent and definitely not worthy of an offering to a Holy God, but blasphemy seems harsh. It’s good press though, no? :)

  13. Anon, you’re defending the indefensible. And while I certainly object to your calling criticism of something like this “praise” pride, by that standard isn’t your criticism pride? I mean, criticism of any kind for any reason is out of bounds by your rules, right?

    BTW, here’s Webster’s definition for blasphemy. And yes, this tripe certainly qualifies.

  14. And here’s blasphemous, if you’re interested.

  15. There is a sense in Scripture that “irreverent” is a binary thing–not a spectrum thing. I.e. in light of the infinite glory, holiness, righteousness, justice and worth of God, how can one truly define a thought, word, or deed as “insert adverb/adjective here–irreverent?” One sin against the Law of Christ is enough to condemn eternally. 1 or 0, on or off, yes or no, jah or nein, oui or non…

    Went cycling after hearing this doggerel and for about 4 miles I had to fight the horrid hook of this song with other hymns I love. Thankfully, I cannot remember how the tune goes anymore! Double uggghhh!

  16. A little quick on the defense I would think. Good point on the poor choice of words on my part, but did anyone call your criticism pride? I took the statement as a comparison. Better to have the kids singing in Sunday School than walking around in pride. Either way, another good example of Christians using the internet to criticize other Christians for no apparent purpose. Or did I miss something in the post? Now that I think about it, maybe pride is more involved here that I first thought. It’s worth considering anyway. I mean, we can’t all write hymns, right? ;)

  17. If I didn’t know better, I’d think you were using the internet to criticize another Christian for no apparent purpose. LOL. :)

  18. Good point. I guess in my own small mind I see it as one brother encouraging another brother(s) to use their obvious talents in a more God glorifying way. But too often what happens is little reflection on honest critique and quick jumps to pointing out the perceived hypocrisy of an earnest attempt to encourage others to love and good works. Can you say the same of this post? Go back and read some of the comments.

  19. There aren’t enough words to describe how bad this song is. “I think I’m gonna hurl… My sins out the door” That is most definitely blasphemy

  20. We’re doing it at church this weekend, actually. Silly? Yes. Gross? Yes. Blasphemous? That’s up to intent, I think. And my intent is to draw attention to God. I’m not sweating it. Let’s try to build each other up here, folks! Too much lemon in the tea!

  21. please how can u say this song is wrong, yes at the end maye cut that but its a fun song not blasphemes

  22. jeremy would u rather kids sing world songs and saying to hurl means throw whats wrong with hurling ur sins out the door,

Comments are closed.

