Sermon Recommendations 4/13/10

I’m back to running a bit more, which means that I’m able to listen to more sermons than I had for a time. Every so often I’ll try to post several that may be of interest to MTC readers.

  • Dave Doran’s message “The Father’s Feast” on the lost sons of Luke 15 and the Father’s joy when sinners repent is exceptional. I’m convinced that conservative Christians (whatever they call themselves) need to think long, hard, and often about our proneness to excuse our “older brother” sins even as we look in disgust at those with  “younger brother” sins. We’re not Christ-like in our view of the lost. This message will help, as will Tim Keller’s excellent little book The Prodigal God, which I suspect may have been a useful resource for Doran. I commend both to you. (If you only have time to listen to one sermon this week, make it this one!)
  • John MacArthur’s recent Shepherds’ Conference message, “Separating from Unbelievers” is clear, bold, and timely. Excellent.
  • Dan Leeper’s message on sanctification from 2 Corinthians 3, “Changed into the Image of the Lord,” was very encouraging to me. Dan is on staff at Bethel Baptist Church in Schaumburg, IL. He asked if I’d listen to and critique one of his sermons. I did, and I was encouraged by the unmistakably Christ-centered view of sanctification that young men like Dan are preaching. Praise the Lord.
  • I was given the unexpected privilege of preaching for our 10th annual Passion Service in Northeast Ohio, when the pastor who was scheduled to preach became ill. The message, “Gethsemane and Golgotha,” is now online.
  • Finally, Joe Tyrpak’s recent message on Revelation 1, “The First and the Last,” has been highly commended to me. I’ve not yet heard it, but based on the enthusiasm of friends like Mark Perry and several TCBC members, I’m looking forward to it. Maybe today.

Update: I listened to Joe’s Revelation 1 message, and it is exceptional. He unpacks the chapter, especially showing its OT roots, then reveals how it encourages (1) a high view of Christ, (2) a high view of the church, and (3) a godly response to suffering. Probably the most comprehensive and applicable sermon I’ve heard on the passage.

Leave a Reply

