Rachel’s Testimony

I received the following email from my 10-year-old last night, and it filled my heart with wonder and joy. Our midweek children’s ministry requires Rachel (far right in the picture) to share the gospel with someone outside of her family, and she chose Danielle, a sweet girl who has attended our church for the better part of a year with her dad (a trophy of God’s grace who is finding deliverance from year’s of alcoholism in the gospel). Rachel sent the note to me, asking me to forward it to Danielle via her dad’s email account. By God’s grace, Rachel understands the gospel more thoroughly than a number of pastors I’ve heard in my lifetime—which is both thrilling and heartbreaking. I hope it’s an encouragement to you. I’m posting it unedited (including her purple font). Grace!

Dear Danielle,

Hello! I have a Buckaroo assignment, where I have to tell my testimony to somebody outside of my family. And that somebody just happens to be you!

Well, I guess the best place to start is when I became a Christian… I was about 7 years old and I had just heard a sermon about the cross. I realized that I was a sinner, and needed a Saviour. That night, I asked my parents to help me get saved. I sat along the bed, and pleaded for Jesus to forgive me… and He did! After we prayed together, I felt like a new person! My sin was gone and paid for – only Jesus could do that! Now, by reading my Bible, praying, and going to church, I am growing spiritually and learning more about my Heavenly Father!

I also have to give 5 evangelism principles…

Principle #1 – You are a sinner by birth and by choice.

Principle #2 – My sin demands punishment by God.

Principle #3 – Christ died for your sins.

Principle #4 – Salvation is a free gift.

Principle #5 – You must repent and believe to be forgiven.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read this testimony! It means a lot to me!

Well, I will talk to you later!

Love,

Rachel Anderson

_____

Related: The Gospel, a 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinners can be right with God.


2 Responses

  1. What a blessing!

  2. I thank God for the work that He is doing in and through you and now in and through your children. God chooses to bless His Word. I am praying that Rachel will have the awesome privelege of seeing Danielle not only come to Christ, but also be a part of her continuing growth after salvation. PTL.

Leave a Reply

