Borrowing Brains: Prophet, Priest, and King

Greg Habegger and I finished a new hymn a few months back, but we’ve not been sure about it. Thus, we’ve not published it at www.churchworksmedia.com yet. As we’re thinking on it, I’ve asked the Huron ladies (friends of mine who did such a nice job on His Robes for Mine) to record it so we could hear it. They did a nice job, as expected. (Thanks for that!) We’re still wondering about the text and tune, however.

If you’re familiar with what we do at CWM, we’d love your input. Please give Prophet, Priest, and King a listen (mp3) and read (pdf) and chime in. Shall we publish it? Tweak it? Bury it? Please advise.

Either way, thanks to the Hurons for doing such a nice job once again!

So…thumbs up or down? :)

6 Responses

  1. Dear Brother Chris,
    I’m giving my two cents for free. I believe the song is sung beautifully and the text depicts the fear of God. As father of the Huron sisters, I may have slight favoritism, but as one who loves melodious, majestic music, it would be a tragedy to bury this powerful song.
    On Purpose,
    Pastor Santiago Huron

  2. Dear Brother Chris,
    Please include this question with my previous post: Have you considered your wife’s counsel? The Lord has given us our wives as wonderful helpmates to help us accomplish great works for His Glory. I would think she may be a great key to your question….
    Brother Santiago Huron

  3. Hmm…this is really a tough one. This is one of those texts that seems made just to sit with and meditate on. But as a hymn, it seems that the concepts hit too hard and fast to appreciate. Like starting out “Blind and lost” or “Vile and damned.” We’re into the next line before this is all fully realized. But then…hmm… I think because of the emphasis on the three activities, it lacks a congealing feel. I think if you kept the theme of the song but placed it fully in the context of, say, John 14, you might get more of a unity in the diversity. It’d really be hard for me to say scrap it because it provides some really solid thoughts. But I’m afraid it would be one of those that people struggle with keeping focus on as they sing.

  4. I like it, Chris. I’d give it a thumbs up as it is. A couple suggestions:

    -Maybe a fourth verse that is a joyous, victorious anthem celebrating our salvation and sanctification (i.e. “Bought and blessed, we have a Christ…”). That said, I understand that the 3 verses match the “Prophet, Priest, and King” title.

    -Musically, I would probably prefer that the first 4/4 measure remain 3/4. I like the 4/4 at the very end because there would be a natural ritard there. But I would prefer straight 1/8th notes or even a dotted 1/8th with a 1/16th in the first 4/4 measure. I think it would keep things moving nicely.

    Just my 2 cents. You guys are the pros at this and I really appreciate what you are doing.

  5. Thanks, all. I appreciate the feedback, both here and on FaceBook. Very helpful.

    Mark, the idea of a 4th verse is one I really like. A “before” and “after” could be great! The last “triumphant” verse often focuses on Christ’s return, but here it could focus on the Christian’s new standing. Nice. And I like the idea of keeping the 3/4 through the verses, though that’s Greg’s decision.

    A few other thoughts people have offered:

    * Several have suggested replacing “damned.” It’s defensible biblically, obviously, and intentionally “striking.” However, it me be more distracting than it’s worth. I’ll probably replace it.

    * I want to keep the “sages” idea, because the theme makes much of Christ as the fulfillment of OT prophecies of PP&K. However, the “angels” may be more distracting. I may rework that section, as well.

    Dan, if people have to think of the text in order to really appreciate the theology behind it, I’m okay with that. Someone recently said that MJF had thoughts too deep for a text, as people need to “get it” the first time through. I just respectfully disagree. :)

    Santiago, thank you for your encouraging thoughts, brother. I think so highly of your family, and am very grateful for their enthusiastic recordings. I do lean on my wife, and she often provides great counsel. Of course, she’s about as objective about me as you are about your daughters. :)

    I’ll probably encourage Greg to tweak it a bit as discussed here, but then release it. The reality is that the cream rises to the top. Watts and Wesley and others wrote hundreds, but only a handful are remembered and used. Unless something is really poor, we may as well put it out there and allow “natural selection” to take it’s course. :)

    Blessings, all. Thanks for thinking through this with us!

  6. That was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

