Borrowing Brains: Wine

No, I’m not asking for your favorite wines. I’m preaching Sunday on a biblical perspective on alcohol, a topical message that is growing out of our exposition of John 2. It’s coming well. However, I’m still interested in helpful resources (preferably online). What messages or articles have you found to be especially helpful in addressing this issue in an exegetical manner?

Comic relief: I’m a teetotaler, but if anything could drive me to drink, it would be this. (HT: Filops, so blame him)

24 Responses

  1. Vitamin Z did an interesting 6 part analysis of James McDonald’s message on alcohol here: http://takeyourvitaminz.blogspot.com/search/label/Alcohol

  2. and Theology Central had some observations here: http://centralmn.wordpress.com/category/alcohol/ not necessary exegetical, but . . .

  3. Sure. That you credit me for.

    /c:

  4. I started a survey once of mentions of wine in the Bible, trying to categorize each (results here: http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0Aju32pkeKo7fcG9rb0JFaXcycUZybjhaY0JTTVozUnc&hl=en). I didn’t get too far before moving on to other things, but I’m curious enough to go back to it. It would be an interesting list were it finished. Looks like I got through about 2 Chr.

  5. Sorry, that link should have been http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pokoBEiw2qFrn8ZcBSMZ3Rw&output=html. That’s the public link. But if anyone is interested enough to help me finish it, I’ll take contributors. :-)

  6. Chris, while you’re at it, I’d be curious to hear your take on this passage.

  7. I second the Vitamin Z blog.

  8. The following is a sermon preached by Gary Reimers

    http://www.sermonaudio.com/sermoninfo.asp?SID=510295742

    I can also send you a copy of his handout.

  9. Ben,

    Clearly, every time wine is mentioned in the Bible it means grape juice.

  10. Another not-an-exegetical-treatment but may be helpful:
    http://www.missiomishmash.com/2009/05/alcohol-on-mission-field.html

  11. I know you’re looking for resources, but if you’d pardon a question, I would dearly love to have you explain why drinking good grape juice first would dull your taste so that you wouldn’t recognize lesser quality grape juice later. (Also a tee-totaler, just curious.)

  12. call Dr. Jaeggli

  13. I think Jeff Straub’s posting here:

    http://centralmn.wordpress.com/2009/11/09/choosing-to-abstain/

    pretty much sums up my view on the issue. I may have the liberty to do it, but “my” liberties should always be lowest on my list of priorities.

  14. If you’ve posted a link that has taken a while to show up, I apologize. To avoid being buried in spam, WP requires me to approve comments with links. Thanks for the help!

    A Facebook friend (alright, it’s Mark’s dad) recommended this article from Mark Perry, as well. Mark always does a thorough job.

  15. I found MacArthur’s books and articles on alcohol a good read. Not sure of the links, but just google John MacArthur and alcohol and it comes up pretty quickly.

  16. Not exactly exegesis, but I found http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christianity_and_alcohol interesting in framing my own view (which, I suppose in the interest of fair disclosure, is that wine is a gift to be enjoyed, and like all gifts, not abused).

  17. Haven’t gotten to everything here yet, obviously, but David Hosaflook’s post is excellent, as expected. Love that guy.

  18. Greg Mazak has great sermon on the subject at sermon audio.

  19. Thanks for the Hosaflook link. I seriously hope he writes a book (or 10) some day. He has a captivating writing style. I thought this line was classic:

    “If you don’t drink the first glass, you’ll never have to worry about drinking the second or fifteenth glass which finally pushes you into the state of intoxication. This is not my primary reason for abstinence, but it is pretty air-tight logic, no? (Please don’t say, “so don’t take your first bite of food lest you become a glutton.” That argument doesn’t fly because our bodies need food; they don’t need alcohol.)”

    Nothing like some good ol’ fashioned common sense!

  20. As Believers we need to know how to balance our liberties with Godly wisdom, whether with drinking alcohol or eating meat or watching television or whatever. We must be aware of the conscience of our brothers and sisters. For example, I have no problem enjoying a glass of fine wine (I am partial to French and Italian reds) and giving thanks for it but I have family that cannot in good conscience touch any alcohol. Also, I am close with other believers who share these convictions about never touching alcohol. Consequently, I will not drink wine in their presence or bring the issue up.

    I was raised in a fundamentalist home but within a denomination that, due to our Swiss roots, had no problem drinking alcohol or serving wine during communion. From this I gained a respect for alcohol’s potential dangers as well as the very Biblical condemnation of drunkenness.

    My only conclusion are two questions. First, how Godly do you wish to be and how willing are you to surrender your personal liberties for the spiritual sake of others? My other question is are the weaker brothers or sisters able to respect and honor the liberties other believers are personally able to take?

  21. Thanks, all. FWIW, the message is up on TCBC’s SermonAudio site and is discussed briefly here.

  22. Everyone’s already posted all the good links, so I’ll throw in one of my own instead :-) :

    http://cbumgardner.wordpress.com/2007/07/29/did-jesus-drink-beverages-with-alcoholic-content/

Leave a Reply

