• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

Praising the Great Shepherd for a Good Shepherd

Guest post by Joe Tyrpak.

_____

My dad was 41 years old, my mom 39. I was eight years old, and for some reason we were moving to Pennsylvania. Decades later I discovered the horrors that my parents had endured that year and the meeting that led us to move.

Trying to “stop the bleeding” from what we had endured in a difficult church situation, my dad sought personal counsel from an experienced out-of-state pastor who, in God’s timing, was preaching in the area. Pastor E. R. Jordan was the short, bald “Pastor Emeritus” of Calvary Baptist Church in Lansdale, PA (only later did I come to learn how influential this little man was—training of hundreds of pastors, planting of dozens of churches, and shepherding of thousands of believers).

When E. R. and my dad met in private, E. R. said in his characteristically direct way, “You’re gonna kill your wife and family if you stay here. Come to Pennsylvania. The church I pastor has lots of people. You could sit in the back row for a couple years, regularly meet with one of our Biblical counselors on staff, and allow your family some time to heal.”

My dad followed his counsel. We moved to PA and went to Calvary Baptist Church for almost six years (until a job change forced us to move). During those 5+ years, we were faithfully taught the Bible several times a week, I was baptized, and two of my sisters met their husbands at church and were married in the auditorium. My parents were also regularly shepherded by Larry Thornton, a seminary prof and assistant pastor at Calvary, who taught them how to think Biblically and help them get back on their feet.

Although I was only starting my teen years when we left PA, I have several distinct memories of “Chief” (the name that all the “preacher boys” called E. R.):

  • He was a phenomenal preacher, unusually gifted in powerful, confrontational exhortation. I remember that he would regularly preach on Wednesday nights in the summer. Even though I was a little boy, his preaching was personally engaging, encouraging and VERY convicting. It was under his preaching that I have the first recollections of God’s Spirit powerfully working in my heart through the public proclamation of the Bible.
  • He never forgot God’s grace in saving “a wretch like him.” During my years at Calvary, E. R. gave his personal testimony of conversion a couple times (sometimes in church, sometimes in elementary school chapel). Every time he recounted God’s grace to him personally, he was moved to tears to think that God would love a sinner like him. If you’re interested in his testimony, you can read it in his autobiography, Chief, from BJUPress or you can order program #2720 from Pacific Garden Mission’s Unshackled radio drama ($7 for a cd).
  • He oozed with passion for personal evangelism. His evangelistic heartbeat seemed evident in every word he spoke.
  • He was a tender shepherd. Although he was fierce in the pulpit, he was personally warm. And, even though he pastored thousands of people, he always had the time to talk with me, a little ten-year-old punk, when I would pass his office, meet him in the school hallways, or greet him at the church door. I’ll never forget his soft, raspy, grandfatherly voice.
  • He always ended his prayers with a long “Aaaaaaaa-men.” It would last at least 5 or 6 seconds. I remember imitating this “trademark” hundreds of times as a kid.

When I woke up this morning to my brother-in-law’s email reporting to our family that “Chief” had died, I started crying, and cried for almost 20 minutes. I told my wife that it was a “good cry.” It was because God is so amazingly gracious. He loved a dirty street boy like Bob, saved him, and transformed him into a caring pastor that compassionately shepherded my equally-needy family during the darkest tragedy of our lives. And God used him to stabilize, sanctify, and heal our family, and change the whole course of our family’s life.

When I’m finally in heaven, I will never stop praising God for shepherding me and my family, and I’ll never stop thanking “Chief” for his Christlike selfless attention to poor and needy sheep like us.

It’s my pleasure to dedicate my metrical rendering of Psalm 23, The Lord’s My Shepherd, to “Chief,” one of the most faithful undershepherds I’ve ever known.

Psalm 23—The Lord’s My Shepherd

Full Page / Half Page / Text / Notes & Discussion / Midi (O WALY WALY)

9 Responses

  1. I just accidently deleted several comments. I apologize!

  2. thanks Joe for sharing this

  3. Was he Tim Jordan’s father?

  4. Yes. Details from Tim here.

  5. Thank you, Joe!

  6. Good post, Brother. Thanks for sharing your heart with us today!

  7. Thanks Joe. I remember Pastor Jordan speaking 2 straight days in chapel when I was a student at BJU. He preached on repentance and it was powerful. Those were the only two times I ever heard him.
    Several years ago, our family would regularly go through the Unshackled programs on the internet and listen to them. I remember one Sunday evening, listening to an incredible testimony of God’s grace and the man’s name was Robert Jordan. I wondered if it was the same and at the end when he was giving some more of his testimony, I almost came out of my chair saying, “I’ve heard him preach. That is THE E Robert Jordan.” What a blessing to be with his Savior now. To God be the glory.

  8. Joe,
    Being familiar with you and your family, this testimony means even more. Praise God for His grace in our lives. I am always amazed at how He takes broken things and uses them as tremendous testimonies of His grace and mercy. May you serve the God of “Chief” all your days.

  9. Pastor Anderson, what a special post.
    “A seed shall serve Him; it shall be accounted to the Lord for a generation.” Psalm 22:30

Leave a Reply

