• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

True Beauty Vs. Fake

This video should be liberating for women and instructive for men, as should 1 Peter 3:3-4:

“Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear—but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.”

Beauty is fleeting even when it’s real (Proverbs 31:30). How much worse is it when girls are taught to chase after beauty that isn’t even skin deep, but is entirely artificial?! I pray that all 4 of my very pretty daughters will grow to be more attentive to their hearts than their hair. (Which means I should primarily complement them for their character, not their appearance. And which also makes me thankful for their mother who is even more beautiful inside than out—which is saying plenty!)

BTW, it probably wouldn’t hurt to show this to your wives and daughters, men. Let them know that they don’t need to compete with plastic. For that matter, show it to your sons and let them know that they don’t need to look for plastic, either. Lessons to learn here for all of us!

HT: Christian Markle

7 Responses

  1. she’s not even plastic. she’s pixels manipulated on a screen.

    she is faux beautiful!

  2. I let my wife know every day how much she means to me. She is the most beautiful woman in the world!

  3. Then why do most men go for the gorgeous, thin girls? Are they sinning against this passage? /says the slightly-above-average looking single 31 yo woman :)

    Honestly, I think this verse is well and good, but it’s not followed. FYI, I do follow it from my side of things, re. men. A godly man with a kind heart turns into Brad Pitt for me, regardless of his actual appearance.

  4. That is a good one.

    Last April, a lesser light also noticed it… and added a second.

    (c;

  5. Scooped again. As usual. :)

    I can’t see the second, for some reason. Can you post a link here? Is it a youtube? It’s odd that I’m not able to see it. Hmm.

  6. Argh. I think I fixed the second one (which was working a second ago)… would you mind trying it again?

    thx

  7. I remember Dr. Bob Jones Jr. in a chapel service tell the girls, “if the barn needs paintin’, paint it!” He also told the story of being approached by a not-so attractive girl who advised him that it was God’s will that they would be married. His reply: “If that’s God’s will, then this will be the first time I am deliberately going against it!”

Leave a Reply

