• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

    • "Tact is the art of making a point without making an enemy." (Isaac Newton) 16 hours ago
    • "Why does God have to punish sin? Because he's so good. Why does God want to forgive sin? Because he's so good." (Tim Keller) @timkellernyc 16 hours ago
    • The Christian life is commenced, continued, and completed by grace. #grace 4 days ago
    • Everyone treats superiors well. How you treat those under you (a waiter, an employee, an underclassmen, an outcast) reveals your character. 2 weeks ago
    • "Tolerance is the world's substitute for grace." @randyalcorn 2 weeks ago
  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

Huw Priday, Here Is Love Vast As the Ocean

Huw Priday does a masterful job on a hymn I have recently grown to adore. The infinite love of our God is amazing, and it’s seen perfectly and fully on the mount of crucifixion. Glory.

(HT: Dustan Chevalier, via Facebook)

Hymn Text (by William Reese):

Here is love, vast as the ocean,
Lovingkindness as the flood,
When the Prince of Life, our Ransom,
Shed for us His precious blood.
Who His love will not remember?
Who can cease to sing His praise?
He can never be forgotten,
Throughout Heav’n’s eternal days.

On the mount of crucifixion,
Fountains opened deep and wide;
Through the floodgates of God’s mercy
Flowed a vast and gracious tide.
Grace and love, like mighty rivers,
Poured incessant from above,
And Heav’n’s peace and perfect justice
Kissed a guilty world in love.

Let me all Thy love accepting,
Love Thee, ever all my days;
Let me seek Thy kingdom only
And my life be to Thy praise;
Thou alone shalt be my glory,
Nothing in the world I see.
Thou hast cleansed and sanctified me,
Thou Thyself hast set me free.

In Thy truth Thou dost direct me
By Thy Spirit through Thy Word;
And Thy grace my need is meeting,
As I trust in Thee, my Lord.
Of Thy fullness Thou art pouring
Thy great love and power on me,
Without measure, full and boundless,
Drawing out my heart to Thee.

8 Responses

  1. Chris, do you know if music for that is readily available and where one might find it?

    Maranatha!
    Don Johnson
    Jer 33.3

  2. Dan Forrest has a beautiful new SATB arrangement of “Here is Love” published by Brookfield Press (Hal Leonard online).

  3. “Here Is Love” is available at this link: http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/h/e/herelove.htm.
    I used Ctrl+PrintScreen to copy it and paste it in a Word doc to use for a handout. It took a bit of work (cropping and drawing in some measure lines), but it wasn’t too bad. If anyone comes across a score that’s a bit easier to use, I’d like to know about it. Thanks, Minda

  4. David,

    Sovereign Grace put out a new version of the song, giving it a new tune and adding a chorus. I’m fine with what they did and we use several of their songs, but I think this one is fine as it is, sans the “facelift.” :)

    Don,

    We have a hymn version of the older tune. If possible, I’ll upload it here.

  5. If you want a recording of it, the Wilds has it on Matt and Christy Taylor’s album called Gentle Voice. I love this song too.

  6. I don’t care at all for the nightclub type background from the video, but the text is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

