• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

    • "Tact is the art of making a point without making an enemy." (Isaac Newton) 16 hours ago
    • "Why does God have to punish sin? Because he's so good. Why does God want to forgive sin? Because he's so good." (Tim Keller) @timkellernyc 16 hours ago
    • The Christian life is commenced, continued, and completed by grace. #grace 4 days ago
    • Everyone treats superiors well. How you treat those under you (a waiter, an employee, an underclassmen, an outcast) reveals your character. 2 weeks ago
    • "Tolerance is the world's substitute for grace." @randyalcorn 2 weeks ago
  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

Borrowing Brains: Stationary Bike Tips?

Stationary BikeThis is by far the least important post I’ve made for quite some time. Sorry. However, I’ve been diagnosed with plantar fasciitis and a stress fracture. I’ll be hobbling around in an aircast for a month or two, followed by some rehab. That means my current exercise options are limited:

  • I can’t run (which is sad).
  • I can’t walk (not for exercise, anyway).
  • I could “burn it up” with my wife, but, well, that’s not gonna happen.
  • I could swim, but I can’t do laps in my basement. Plus, it’s hard listening to sermons in underwater.

So, what should I be looking for in a stationary bike? How much will I need to spend? What “gadgets” does it need to have? Do I want it to be upright or more reclined? Is there a certain brand or model I should look for or avoid? I don’t want to over-buy, but I want it to be adequate. And how long does it take to get a substantial workout (similar, say, to a 3 to 5 mile run)? Other tips?

Thanks.

15 Responses

  1. you know…there might be someone around you who has a bike they are currently using as a clothes hanger. why dont you ask around? i know that is their usual fate. just a thought.

  2. Actually, you can buy an MP3 player made to work underwater.

  3. I had this in both feet a few years ago. No fun. Here is a link to some exercises that helped me a great deal. No problems since.

  4. Good idea on the bike, JG.

    Andy, that is very cool. Hadn’t heard that.

    Diane, thanks. I’ll look into that.

  5. For those wondering, the “burn it up” statement was an (admittedly imprecise) allusion to an exercise video. Sheesh.

  6. Chris,
    the weather may be temperate for awhile yet, why not see something as you pedal…I went to cycling because I had the PF about 7 yrs ago…a $2 Fuji, 27 inch bike…I keep up with my friends and their $2000 Giants…1.5 hours, 25 – 30 miles, lots of calories burned…are you near country roads?…

  7. Finally a subject about which I know something. You could get a stationary bike through e-bay or the paper for a few hundred. I like the upright kind. Or, you could buy a decent road bike for $200-500 (used) and attach it to a small stationary trainer for about another $80. Then you’d have a stationary bike AND a bike you can ride outside all in one. As for getting a good workout, I have an 18 mile route that takes around an hour. I think I burn around 1500-2000 calories and keep my heart rate up in the 140-150 range. You’ll know you worked out but you don’t feel beat up like after a long run. But be warned… you may experience some discomfort in the posterior regions until you get used to sitting on a seat designed by the Spanish Inquisition. Let me know if you want more specifics on buying a road bike.

  8. There’s a great thought. I have a cheap bike that I can replace if I start riding more. But I can use it now with one of those stationary trainers. Where should I get one of those? Anything I should look for in that thing?

    Sweet. Thanks!

  9. This should do the trick. You don’t even need any equipment.

  10. Funnier than that video (and that’s saying something) is the fact that everybody watching it is making faces at his/her computer right now. You know you are, or were. :)

  11. Thanks for the video. Now if I could just find a doggy rapture service that operates in Georgia, I’d be all set!

  12. I’ve never had PF, but did have a stress fracture in my left foot while in Marine Corps Recruit Training at Parris Island a long time ago. That wasn’t any fun, but I know what you’re going through.

  13. To bad you don’t live near me. I have a nice exercise bike in my basement that doesn’t get used anymore. Come to think of it, I am not even sure it is still in the basement……..which means I need to reorganize………why did you have to go and mention an exercise bike. Now I have work to do.

  14. Got a not-too-expensive stationary bike from WalMart. Works well enough that I was dying tonight during my first workout with it. :) Thanks for the tips.

  15. I use to make those faces when my mom tried to make me eat my veggies! Well, I was making OTHER faces after being spanked too many times. I should look like I’m 15 still!

Leave a Reply

