“Behold the Lamb of God”

I’ve been meditating lately on John the Baptist’s announcement of Christ in John 1:29, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sins of the world.” The statement is a great summary of the Christian life, of the Christian mission, of the meaning of the Scriptures.

As I’ve considered the text, I’ve come across several helpful sermons:

  • Michael Barrett addresses the text with typical poignancy and reverence here. (This was my favorite. Dr. Barrett’s example of preaching Christ has been stellar for decades. As I commented in a private discussion, he was Christ-centered and Calvinistic “before it was cool.” I thank God for him.)
  • John Piper does what you might expect him to do here. Excellent.
  • Alan Cairns preaches on the text here. Interestingly, the service in which he preached the message was one in which they were celebrating the completion of an artistic rendering of the text in their auditorium, so it includes preliminary comments and a hymn composed for the occasion by Joan Pinkston. Pastor Cairns’ initial comments on the text were as edifying as the sermon.

Speaking of messages which encourage the listener to “behold the Lamb of God,” I very much appreciated Steve Pettit’s message on Revelation 4-5 from the 2009 Heart Conference. (HT: Ben) I bought the CD’s, so I can’t link to it yet. However, I’m assuming that the same message will be available elsewhere soon. When it is, I’ll try to point it out. In the meantime, many of Steve’s messages can be heard here.

If you have other resources on this great text, whether in print or audio, please chime in. I plan to continue this study for quite some time. Thanks!

Aside #1: As I’ve had the opportunity, I’ve urged fundamentalist leaders to make their sermons available for free online. People probably won’t often pay for mp3’s of sermons in most cases today. There are some great things being said that are unavailable online. Please find a way to rectify that, friends!

Aside #2: On a lighter note, I made a little stir on Facebook a few days ago when I said that “I ran 10 miles with Michael Barrett and John Piper.” I don’t know what the big deal was. I do it all the time. They (and several other friends) help me with yard work, too.

2 Responses

  1. “The Lamb of God in Scripture” (Spurgeon) at http://www.spurgeon.org/sermons/2329.htm

    Paisley, Tozer, John Barnett, Drew Conley, Cairns, Dick Mercado…and somebody named Jeff Anderson (know him? lol) all have sermons on this text on Sermon Audio in this listing:

    http://www.sermonaudio.com/search.asp?currPage=1&keyword=john&BibleOnly=true&currSection=sermonsbible&chapter=1&verse=29&AudioOnly=false&SortBy=bible

  2. Thanks, Diane. I listened to one of these on the way to a hospital visit this AM!

Leave a Reply

