“He Giveth Some More!”

This will make you smile, I think.

By God’s grace, the post I made following the death of my dear friend Cindy has been an encouragement to many (as Dan Phillips kindly testified at the end of this post). I praise the Lord for that. I also rejoice that God’s work in that circumstance isn’t over. Here’s “the rest of the story.”

george-kim-and-boys

Shortly after Cindy’s death, the church I pastor was hit with another difficult loss—the suicide of the husband of one of our members (which I wrote of here, here, and here). As we worked to help the widow and her two young sons through the tragic ordeal, I rejoiced to see God’s grace displayed through His church. I was especially moved by a display of 2 Cor 1:3-4 type care as Cindy’s husband George, the recent widower, empathetically and appropriately comforted Kim, the recent widow (as I mentioned here):

“George––the man whose wife recently entered the Lord’s presence––was there, offering understanding and hope to the new widow.”

Well, the Lord who delights to give joy for mourning has done so in a wonderful and unexpected way. George and Kim announced their engagement yesterday during our worship service! Their news was met with laughter, joyous applause, and tears of gratitude to God. Two godly church members are no longer alone, and two young boys are no longer without a father. Though I realize that Jeremiah 31:3 deals with matters of great theological consequence, I can’t help but think of its description of God’s general goodness, especially in situations such as this:

“I will turn their mourning into joy; I will comfort them, and give them gladness for sorrow.”

God’s grace is not lost on my dear friend, George. He sent me a note last night that concluded this way:

“The Lord giveth, and the Lord taketh away…and then He giveth some more!!!!!”

Yes, friend. He does indeed.

One Response

  1. What a happy development in two sad stories. Praise God.

Leave a Reply

