Safety Is of the Lord

The Lord protected my family from tragedy last night. Returning from some time in Grove City, PA, we hit a treacherous patch of ice on the interstate, spun three times, rolled our van and came to a stop in the right berm—tires skyward and just 50 feet short of an overpass. By God’s grace, all eight of us (me, Lori, our four girls, and my parents) walked away from the accident without a scratch, save a nice shiner which Lori is sporting. Apart from God’s great mercy, there’s no reason why a van careening out of control at 50-60 miles an hour and rolling should allow its passengers to escape unharmed. God’s care for us is overwhelming and humbling.

We’re obviously looking for a new van, but everything irreplaceable was preserved. It was a traumatic event for all of us—especially my girls—but I spent the day enjoying my family rather than mourning them or visiting them in the hospital. What an amazing deliverance. What a gracious God!

15 Responses

  1. Chris,
    I am rejoicing over God’s protection of you and your precious family. Just yesterday morning in our men’s accountability we were discussing a horrible accident that took place here in Kansas City where an out of control driver plowed into a couple coming back from a church function killing all involved. We were once again reminded of the brevity of life and the short time we have here on earth, for God’s glory, to labor for the irreplaceables. God has already used this event to make His great name known! Your experience causes me to review all of His tender mercies toward me and my family and fuels my desire to make the most of each day with them and for Him.

    Bless the Lord!

    Ken Heizer

  2. Chris,

    Praise the Lord for his grace and mercy to us every day! I’m so thankful that you and your family are safe.

  3. Chris,

    I praise the Lord for your safety! What a reminder that safety is of the Lord and we are in His care.

    I’m praying for you and your family as this settles down.

  4. So glad you are all safe. Things like this seem to distill everything that is genuinely important in our lives into scant and precious droplets.

  5. Praise God, glad you’re ALL safe.

  6. I rejoice with you to know you and yours are all safe.

  7. Wow! Glad you are OK

  8. Chris, I am glad to hear of God’s protection. Praise the Lord!

  9. Praise the Lord for His protection!

  10. Praise the Lord for His hand of protection on you last night!
    I sent out an email to my fellow church members to be in prayer for you guys as you look for a new van.

  11. Wow! May God be praised!

  12. Glad to hear your all safe. Praise the Lord for his grace and protection. It never ceases to amaze me when God reminds us of our frailty and mortality all the while demonstrating his sovereign protection and care.

  13. WOW– Jeff and I just read this. Proof of Psalm 91:11, right? We are so thankful your family wasn’t hurt, and know it must have a very harrowing experience. God is good.

  14. We praise God with you.

  15. Chris, How I praise God that all of you were spared in your frightening accident.
    I was at The Wilds all week and only heard a little bit about it. This morning when I read your account I was greatly moved by God’s wonderful protection on your family- the story could have been far different. May the Lord bless all of you and continue to watch over you as you serve Him in 2009! In Christ, Jerry

Leave a Reply

