What I’m Reading: Frankenstein, with Thoughts on God’s Sovereignty

frankensteinWell, I read Frankenstein last week. I really did. Yeah, I know—probably not the best possible use of my time. But it was relaxing and entertaining, and one of my hobbies right now is reading fictional works that have influenced our culture and stood the test of time (at least to some degree). That means I read some chintz like Journey to the Center of the Earth, but I’ve also enjoyed some classics like Les Miserables and some ‘tweeners like The Count of Monte Cristo. What’s even weirder than my reading Frankenstein is the fact that I happened to finish it on Halloween. Go figure. Spooky, eh?

Anyway, the book is sadder than I expected, and really not scary at all. And the monster doesn’t just grunt; he’s quite eloquent. Want more? It was written by a lady. And she was only 18.

(See? Now that’s why you read My Two Cents. Where else are you gonna get this kind of content?!)

Seriously, now, there’s a spiritual lesson I took from the book, and it’s one that will stick with me.  The book’s plot is essentially that a brilliant scientist ill-advisedly gives life to a creature he later can’t control.  He rues the day that he made the thing, but of course his regret comes too late. His experiment-gone-wrong betrays him and is bent on cruelty and vengeance. Tragically, Dr. Frankenstien is unable to do anything about it. (Jurassic Park, anyone?) Two particular statements the monster makes to his maker caught my attention:

“You are my creator, but I am your master; obey!”

“Remember, thou hast made me more powerful than thyself.”

Oops. There’s nothing worse than creating something that later gets away from you and leaves you unable to do anything about it. Bummer.

Joking aside, though, isn’t that the view which Open Theists and others who deny God’s absolute sovereignty (as if there were another kind) have of Him? Do they not believe Him to be unable to control the sinister creatures He has unleashed upon the world—to not know what they’ll do next? Do they not portray Him as a benevolent but weak Being who wishes He were in control, but isn’t, or perhaps has chosen not to be? Do they not invent a God more deserving of pity (or disdain!) than worship?

How blasphemous. That’s not the God of the Bible. Indeed, it’s no God at all. Our God is in the heavens, doing whatever He desires. (Psalm 115:3) None can resist His will. (Daniel 4:35) He’s both the Creator and the Master. (Jeremiah 32:17) And amazingly, He’s also the Savior. Wonderful.

One Response

  1. My wife is a high school English teacher who is a literature geek. Its amazing how much secular literature out there, especially in the classics, is helpful in starting discussions in the classroom on spiritual issues.

Leave a Reply

