Olympic Moments, Part 1

I’m an Olympics junkie—have been since 1984 and the L.A. Olympics. (Think Carl Lewis, Edwin Moses, Greg Louganis, Karch Kirali, Flo Hyman, Mary Lou Retton, and the great ’84 men’s gymnastics team featuring Peter Vidmar, Bart Conner, Tim Daggett, and Mitch Gaylord. Mercy, I even remember the Beatrice commercials that aired incessantly during the Olympics that summer.) All that to say, I’ll be keeping up with the Games over the next few weeks and pointing out some of my favorite moments.

I don’t imagine that any of the posts to follow will top this first one. The final of the men’s 4×100 freestyle relay (complete with French trash talking, swimming phenom Michael Phelps, a world record time for the 5th place finishers, and the most amazing finish I’ve ever seen) was just sensational. You can watch a replay of it here. If you haven’t seen it, you must.

Sweet.

5 Responses

  1. “I don’t imagine that any of the posts to follow will top this first one.”

    I don’t think I can add anything to the conversation since you’re so confident that your post is the very best.

  2. I meant (obviously, I think) that this post is probably better than any of the other posts I’ll make over the next few weeks.

    But you’re still probably right.

  3. I watch very little of the Olympics (no TV), but I did see that relay last night. It was indeed a great moment!

  4. Actually, being from East Tennessee, I am more partial to the redneck olympics.

    Seriously, that was awesome.

  5. […] what I said about the men’s 4×100 freestyle: “I don’t imagine that any of the posts to […]

Leave a Reply

