Parasailing!

This week my family enjoyed a few days at Middle Bass Island, a vacation place on lake Erie—a trip that included parasailing! Here’s a short video I took while being dragged around by a boat some 300-plus feet below me:


Better than my parasailing was the parasailing of a 74-year-old friend of our family, whom I’ll only identify as “Mrs. C” out here in cyberspace.

She pulled it off. With class. And in a dress. They call that “chutzpah!” Ironically, I was the one who got green from the boat ride, not her. The Lord is perpetually finding new ways to humble me. :)

You can see pictures of Helen’s excursion and the rest of the trip (including a couple of gorgeous sunsets and five gorgeous Anderson gals!) here.

6 Responses

  1. Sweet! Great vid! Hope you guys had a restful time.

  2. Chris,

    I went parasailing once up on Grand Traverse Bay in MI. The whole time I had my hands holding the harness right at the carabiner that connects the harness to the parasail, just like what you had in your video. Without really thinking about it I starting pushing the carabiner open and closed over and over again – until I realized that that little contraption was the only thing keeping me up in the air. I then quickly found another place to keep my hands! To this day I shudder to think what could have happened to me if I had accidently dislodged myself from the parasail.

  3. Chris, I love it! Thanks for sharing. Having grown up not terribly far from Lake Erie (in Fostoria) I spent lots of happy days there. But nothing quite as exciting as parasailing. After failing at waterskiing, I settled for tubing. :-) The parasailing looks like a blast, though

  4. Chris
    Have you ever been to Presque Isle in Erie PA?
    I will be praying for you as you direct a week of Family Camp at Penial!
    My brother Sam will be there. You better keep an eye on him!
    God Bless,
    Len

  5. I was beginning to wonder about the state of fundamentalism today, but then I was greatly relieved to find your site. I think one of the biggest problems in fundamentalism is women parasailing in pants. I’m glad to see your church still has the right standards!

  6. Cousin Len! What are you doing here? Maybe we can go parasailing at a family picnic sometime.

    Dale Peeler

Leave a Reply

