Grandpa’s Glorious Day

My 94-year-old grandfather is one of the godliest men I know. He has walked with the Lord for most of a century, has raised 7 godly children, and has seen his faith passed on to 3rd and 4th generations. What a heritage! He has also endured the passing of two wives (one very young) and countless other hardships without despair. His faith in Christ is no weak thing.

Grandpa is nearing the end of his own time on earth. His heart is weakening, and soon it will rest for good. It appeared that yesterday would be the day, as he had no pulse or breathing for a couple minutes. When he revived and was being tended to, he asked if my Aunt Margaret (who was married to my Uncle Michael and with whom Grandpa has lived for several years) were present. She said that she was, and here’s what he said:

“It’s a glorious day, Margaret. You know what I mean. Goodbye.”

In one way, I wish for his sake that yesterday had been the day. I’m anxious for Grandpa to be present with the Lord, which is far better. But in our Lord’s sovereignty, He has allowed Grandpa to linger a little longer. So as he went to bed last night, he started praying aloud for missionaries, pastors and his own children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren—by name, as always. And I imagine that he started the day today in the same way, as always.

But very soon he’ll speak to His beloved Savior face to face, and it will indeed be a glorious day.

You know what I mean.

4 Responses

  1. My maternal grandfather was an Evangelical United Brethren minister for many years. When the denomination went “south”, my grandfather resigned and began to attend Calvary Bible in Columbus. He was then the founding elder of a new work in Westerville now known as Westerville Bible Church.

    I didn’t get to know my grandfather that well because he moved to Arizona in 1974 (I turned 13 that year) because prior to his salvation, he was a heavy smoker. Emphysema ravished his lungs, and moving to the dryer air added another 20 years to his life. His favorite saying was, “If I don’t see you in the morning, I’ll see you in ‘The Morning'”!

    In September 1994 (I cannot remember the specific day), he moved back to Columbus because the doctor gave him 3 to 6 months to live. On a Friday night, one week after returning to Columbus, he was released from the local hospital.

    My parents were in town from Mentor, and helped grandpa set up his new home. They asked if I wanted to come over to visit. I could not wait. I told an older friend of mine who remembered my granddad as his Sunday School teacher, and asked if he wanted to go with me to visit grandpa. He said he would be honored.

    That Friday night, my older friend prayed before we left, and he ended his prayer with this verse;

    Joh 14:27 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be fearful.”

    My grandfather said his usual hearty “Amen” when my friend finished. Before we left, I told grandpa, “If I don’t see you in the morning, grandpa, I’ll see you in ‘The Morning'”! I kissed him goodbye, then I kissed grandma goodbye (my mom, too), then we left.

    Sometime after 9am on Saturday morning, I received a phone call from my mom. Grandpa went home to be with his Savior sometime around 8am. The last thing my mom told grandpa was, “Dad, we will see you in ‘The Morning'”, and with that, grandpa puckered his lips, and kissed grandma for the last time!

    “I will see you in ‘The Morning’, grandpa”!

  2. My grandma went to be with the Lord 22 years ago, and I do know what you mean. We will be praying for your family, as I know you will miss your grandpa dearly, even as you rejoice that he is with His Savior!

    Exult, O dust and ashes!
    The Lord shall be thy part;
    His only, His for ever,
    Thou shalt be, and thou art!

  3. “It’s a glorious day. You know what I mean.”

  4. We are continuing to pray for your family.

Leave a Reply

