Another Daughter, Another Hymn

Esther RuthNot to be outdone (literally), Esther disappeared for a while this evening and emerged with her first hymn, God the Holy. Not bad for a six-year-old, and it’s all her work, tune and all! (Even her daddy doesn’t do that!)

How I pray that the Savior will make my girls’ black hearts white by His grace!

(Note: Those of you with children realize that the production of new hymns could be a daily occurrence around here for a while, so while I’ll continue to encourage the writing of hymns, I’ll not be posting every one from now on.) :)

2 Responses

  1. Wow, Esther! I’m so thrilled by your first hymn, and I am proud of you for taking the initiative to do something so important as expressing Scriptural truth in music. Keep it up!

    I’m also thrilled by the evidence that you are already taking to heart important truths of Scripture like the holiness of God and our need to have our sinful, black hearts made clean through the shed blood of Jesus on the cross. I’m sure your mommy and daddy are pleased by this, too. :)

    Pastor Anderson, it sounds to me like the right kind of peer pressure is a wonderful thing! :) I hope that you will continue to encourage your girls to express poetically and musically what they are learning from God’s Word, and I pray that their song, like that of David, would be that of praise to our great God.

  2. After further thought, I wanted to pass along something I hope will be helpful to the hymn writing team of Anderson, Anderson, and Anderson, Inc.

    Girls, as the wife of a lawyer and the mom of a wonderful “Daddy’s girl,” myself, I suggest that you compose a contract for your father’s signature if he wants to continue to be the exclusive publisher of your work. (Use your best cursive!) Here is some legal lingo to get you started: :)

    “We, the undersigned, heretofore known as ‘the Anderson girls,’ do hereby and forthwith offer our daddy, also known as Pastor Chris Anderson, exclusive rights to publish our literary and musical endeavors. In exchange for said exclusive rights, Daddy agrees to pay us each the sum of ___ (fill in agreed-upon number) of hugs and kisses, payable upon request. In the year of our Lord, 2007, and in each subsequent year during which this agreement remains in force.”

Leave a Reply

