Barrett on Bumper-Sticker Theology

In a previous post, I noted that chintz is an improper vehicle for the message of the gospel. Dr. Michael Barrett, in a quotation which I came across tonight, suggests that the problem is often deeper—the message itself is wrong:

“Unfortunately, the bumper-sticker gospel that encourages all and any to smile because God loves them has become the popular theology of our day and parallels the preaching of the old false prophets who preached peace when there was no peace (Jeremiah 8:11).  Although it does not promote a feel-good mentality, it is better to hear the word of the Lord: ‘There is no peace, saith my God, to the wicked’ (Isaiah 57:12).” (Complete In Him, 149)

Rather than saying, “Smile, God loves you,” Psalms 5:5 and 11:5 say that the Lord hates the wicked. Psalm 7:11 says He is angry with the wicked every day. Put that on a bumper-sticker.

On second thought, I’m only joking. Please don’t.

5 Responses

  1. I agree, but I have to admit that I was a sobered one day when I saw a simple bumper sticker with the text from Amos (given): “Prepare to meet thy God.”

    Of course, the guy might have been warning everybody about his driving.

  2. Ya, but did ya’ll read Homer Hankey’s testermony bout how the bumper sticker on Rev. Dr. Sodder’s limo got him saved?!?

  3. I got a kick out of this from Ted Tripp:

    “I have talked to my teens about the need for a bumper sticker to counter balance the popular ‘Smile, God Loves You.’ This one would say ‘Tremble, God is a Consuming Fire.'”

  4. I just put a small sticker on my truck today which simply states ” God is Good “. He is good to me and I want everyone to know it. Maybe someone will see it and the Lord will use it to draw them to Him, but, this is one way that I can proclaim to everyone that God is Good.

  5. I still remember a year at BJU when our theme was “God is great, God is good–let us thank Him”. I liked it…good bumper sticker material. =) To see the phrase isolated from the familiar context of the child’s prayer helps one to see it in a new light…at least it did for me.

Leave a Reply

