Mark Driscoll Preaches to Fathers

Mark DriscollI’ve been critical of Mark Driscoll in the past, and I haven’t altered my concerns with his philosophy of ministry or edgy style. However, I recently listened to a message he preached on the biblical responsibilities of fathers, and I was pleasantly surprised. Driscoll does a good job handling the Scriptures, and he’s absolutely fearless when addressing men about their responsibilities or women about the worldliness of the “have it all” mindset that permeates the church as well as the world.

Give it a listen. If you disagree with aspects of the guy’s ministry (and if you’re a regular reader here, you probably do), you might as know who you’re disagreeing with and understand what he’s about. FWIW, he gives one of his irreverent/crass “zingers” a little over half way into the message, so it’s probably a pretty fair example of his pulpit ministry. The comment will leave you shaking your head. It’s the sort of unnecessary comment that so frequently earns him just criticism even from those with whom he fellowships. That said, he’s not an exegetical hack or a perpetual clown who is more interested in getting laughs than teaching the Scriptures. Far from it.

6 Responses

  1. Chris,

    This was very good. I needed it today.

    BTW, you mentioned the “zinger” in the middle. He threw in a nice one right at the end as well. Right after he closes in prayer he invites folks to partake of communion and then he “admonishes” :-) his congregation about their poor giving.

  2. Hey, Mark. I hadn’t noticed that—my jog was over prior to that time. Oops. The last comment made me cringe and smile all at once. I’m so confused. “Admonishes” is a generous description. :)

    (BTW, I’m ashamed of the smile part. It’s not good. There’s something wrong with me, I know.)

    Crassness aside, I agree that it is a powerful message. And long!

  3. Driscoll is proabably a classic example of what Peter writes concerning as one who can discern some issues eg abortion, fatherhood that are obvious but is spiritually blind to any deeper truths.

    2Pe 1:9 But he that lacketh these things is blind, and cannot see afar off, and hath forgotten that he was purged from his old sins.

  4. Sam,

    Verse 9 may very well be describing lost men, especially in light of verse 10. Surely you’re not suggesting that Driscoll is lost?

    Either way, your criticism seems a bit bold, if not plain reckless. I’d hope you wouldn’t shoot from the hip with that kind of accusation, but that you’ve taken the time to find out if he’s orthodox on more than family issues.

    We can say we disagree with someone’s philosophy of ministry or crass speech without questioning their salvation or orthodoxy. In fact, I did just that. Frankly, I think statements like yours hurt no position but your own.

  5. Sam,

    Should I draw similar conclusions about a preacher I once heard say from the pulpit, “That’s just a bunch of bull sshhhh . . . tuff.”? Or suggest that gay sailors should be thrown overboard?

    Or should I apply a different standard because this other man was a fundamentalist?

  6. Hey Chris, stumbled onto your post through google blog, hope it’s alright if I make one comment :).

    I’m very sympathetic to those who disapprove of Driscoll’s philosophy of ministry, however as a 19-year-old university student I can assure you that Pastor Driscoll, crass comments and all, connects far more with my generation than say John MacArthur or R.C. Sproul. That is not meant in any way as a dig on either of those men, they’re both wonderful men of God who have been used mightily throughout their ministries. However, I don’t see either of them (or any of Driscoll’s many critics for that matter) ministering in a context as difficult as Seattle with such positive fruits coming from the ministry.

    I’d suggest visiting Mars Hill’s website (marshillchurch.org) and finding the video that has testimonies of some of the members of the church. It’s a beautiful and encouraging video and might give you a new perspective on Pastor Driscoll’s ministry.

Leave a Reply

