Who Said It? More on Thinking and Feeling

Brain in a JarMuch to my surprise, my recent post on the priority of thoughts over feelings was quite controversial. My proposition was that our feelings must follow and be controlled by biblically sound thought. Some heartily agreed. Some heartily disagreed. With that conversation in mind, I was glad to come across the following statement in my reading last week—after I thought about it, of course.

“The mind is the leading faculty of the soul. When the mind fixes upon an object or course of action, the will and the affections follow suit. They are incapable of any other consideration . . . The mind’s office is to guide, to direct, to choose and to lead.”

In the time-honored tradition of blogging contests, I welcome guesses regarding the dimwit who made that statement. Who said it? The winner gets . . . um . . . er . . .Well, the winner gets to feel good about himself. Or herself. No Googling.

29 Responses

  1. Perhaps it was Watchman Nee?

  2. It was not Watchman Nee.

  3. Martyn Lloyd-Jones was a big proponent of what you are saying; so that’s my guess. The quote sounds like something he would have said. BTW, I heartily agree with you. I just feel you’re right about this.

  4. No to Jonathan Edwards, and no to DMLJ. They probably said similar things, but this one is not theirs. Good guesses.

  5. James Innell Packer

  6. Nice to have you on the guessing end, Ben. Well done.

    But no.

  7. lilrabbi?

    I would have guessed Edwards if Greg hadn’t beat me to it. Perhaps Watson?

  8. Joel Osteen definitely. Ok, maybe Martin Luther.

  9. * lilrabbi? Good one.

    * Edwards? No. Again.

    * Watson? Nope.

    * Osteen? Ai-yai-yai.

    * Luther? No.

    Those who are naming dead men are on the right track though.

  10. It sounds like John Owen, but I can’t remember reading that exactly and I’m not sure you read that deeply (snigger, snigger). However, Owen did say that the mind is the seat of spirituality.

  11. Also, it is clear that whoever said it is a dichotomist which would clearly put him among reformed theologians… The language seems modern, but the person is dead. . .

    Berkhof?

    But then again, being the hyper-analytical person that I am, I can’t imagine why you’d be reading a Systematic…

    Third guess (how many do I get?)… Horatius Bonar.

  12. Well then, it’s either J.C. Ryle, or I’m betting you need to update your “what I’m reading” page.

  13. Are you suggesting that I might have glanced over his “what I’m reading” page?

    Sheesh! The first thing that came to my mind was Horatius Bonar. I’m so into him. He’s my home-boy.

  14. Chris is right, I’m not dead.

  15. No, I’m saying I looked at the list. That wasn’t in the rules, was it?

  16. I’m guessing JC Ryle too. Or, perhaps BB Warfield?

  17. Spurgeon?

  18. Bob–you “can’t remember reading that exactly” in Owen? Was that from the last time you made it through his works? I should have guessed him over Luther, but Owen’s hair is more akin to Osteen’s.

  19. I would guess it’s Freud or Erik Erikson (neo-freudian), but they’re obviously christian theologians.

  20. Ooops….BIG oops! It should read “they are obviously NOT christian theologians” Yikes!!!!

  21. You know, the more I give it some thought, it sounds a little like what the Guatama Buddha would have to say. You had to have gotten the quote from a christian reading I hope, Chris. If I am right, yeesh and yuck (thinking about Freud, Erikson, and Buddha…got to go read the Gospel of John, Acts, and Romans now)…but that kind of quote is making the rounds in today’s circles, and you did say the person was a “dimwit”.

  22. No to Freud, Erikson and Buddha. And before anyone asks, it wasn’t Confucius either.

    No to Spurgeon.

    No to Bonar.

    No to Berkhof.

    No to Ryle. Twice.

    No to Warfield. Nice try, though.

    Bob would have won a week’s vacation in Tahiti had he not replaced his first answer with two other wrong ones. “Thanks for playing, Bob. We have some nice parting gifts for you…”

    John Owen is right, though. Nicely done. Sin and Temptation, Regent College, 1995, p. 36-37.

  23. I want my parting gift. Now. And my first guess was my real guess. Pleeeeaassee.

  24. Okay, Bob. Here you go: a free online copy of Owen’s Overcoming Sin and Temptation can be found here.

    Technically, no one else should go get it. I’ll leave that to your own consciences, however.

  25. Pearson, I haven’t read ALL of Owen. I personally know only one person who has. Besides my Latin stinks. I can say/read “ab absurdum” because, well. . .just because. Other than that I’m lousy at Latin even though Quiquid latine dictum sit altum viditur which I think means something like “whatever is said in latin sounds more profound.” Whatever.

    But I have read much of Owen and generally am fairly good at recall. I am personally registering my complaint with the game host for inserting an ellipsis in the quote. That totally threw me. Totally. Plus, plus, plus, if I had known that a week’s vacation to Tahiti was the prize I would have actually applied myself and not forfeited my first answer with two other attempts.

    I’m a sore loser. Or, as they say in Latin, “sorum loserum.” (I think.)

  26. Jack Hyles?

  27. Since none of the obvious answers are working, I thought I would go with the most unobvious (my mind tells me that is a legitimate word) one.

  28. Andrew, unobvious is not a word. Disobvious is what you’re looking for.

Leave a Reply

