On Our Trip to Colorado!

Hike View

If it seems unusually quiet around here, it’s because I’ve spent the last week in Colorado at a family reunion. This is my extended family: all of us, Mom and Dad, Jeff’s, Dan’s and mine. Here are the highlights of the trip, including lots of pictures. (I know that looking at someone else’s vacation pictures can be considered cruel and unusual punishment, but hey, nobody’s forcing you to click.)

  • Despite a cancellation from United Airlines (shocking, I know), we got here, albeit 12 hours later than we planned.
  • We enjoyed a week at a beautiful mountain home, about an hour west of Denver. The week was given to us—all 24 of us!—by the Christian family who owns it. The house is perfectly situated on a gorgeous river.  What a blessing!
  • We caught a bunch of big trout at a private pond near the house, to which we were invited by another Christian family. The Lord is good to His children, sometimes in unnecessary but memorable ways.

Bandits 1

  • We visited Casa Bonita Saturday night, and my Dad & daughters & I were arrested. It was a hoot. (Here are 2 more pictures of the Anderson Bandits.)
  • After spending Friday and half of Saturday at the mountain house, we all vacated to minister on Sunday. It was humbling to consider the Lord’s goodness, as all 4 men in our family ministered the Word Sunday. I was privileged to preach twice: in the AM at the church my dad pastors in Denver, and in the PM at the church my brother pastors in Colorado Springs.
  • After a full Sunday, we returned to the mountain house for several more days of relaxation. Included in the time was a lot of Rook, a play written and performed by the 16 grandkids, and a whale of a hike up this mountain. It was exhausting and exhilarating. Here are more pictures: the mountain, a great view from the top (looking one direction, and the other), the climbers, and me and my brothers near the summit.
  • On the hike we stumbled across an amazing sight: the wreckage of a B-24H Liberator that crashed on the mountain in 1943! Eleven soldiers died in the accident. Among the many parts strewn over the mountainside we found several motors, wing sections, two props, a landing gear eand a ton of debris. Here’s a memorial plaque from the sight that explains what happened. It was a cool find.
  • I’ve been able to play one agonizing round of golf and I’ve done quite a bit of reading, including the conclusion of my required reading for the Dispensations class I took at DBTS, Les Miserables, and some reading for a mini-series I’m preparing to preach on the family.

We’ve had a wonderful, wonderful time.  Tomorrow?  Back to Northeast Ohio, back to work, and back to reality. Thankfully, we head back refreshed and reminded anew the blessings of a godly heritage.  God is good!

8 Responses

  1. Somehow I knew when you started reading Boar’s Head Tavern, then Drinking with Calvin and Luther, that it was only a matter of time.

  2. Chris, I think you need to do some reading and listening over at Aniol’s blog.

  3. Casa Bonita is a blast…

    But when did Les Miserables become required reading for DBTS Dispensations class? What kind of dispensationalists are they, anyway???

    Regards,
    Don Johnson
    Jer 33.3

  4. As fun as Casa Bonita is, you didn’t actually eat there, did you??? The last time I ate there was the beginning of 14 of the most agonizing hours of my life….I’ll spare you all the gory details. Suffuce to say, a Casa Bonita “gut bomb” is an experience you never forget….

    BTW, all those pictures really make me miss Colorado.

  5. Chris,

    I am still trying to decide which image is the more disturbing, you with a bottle of tequila in your hand or you in shorts.

  6. Somebody needs to come down here to Florida and get some Sun.

  7. 1. I thought it was a Coke bottle from the late 1800’s. Oops.

    2. Never trust a pastor with a tan.

  8. Ellis,

    You know, I’ve heard plenty of people knock CB’s food, but honestly, I like it. And as much as I hear how bad it is, I see a lot of people raising their flags for more.

    Thanks for sparing us the details, BTW. As for Colorado, it’s even more beautiful than I remembered.

Leave a Reply

