Monergism.com Posts Sermon by Tom Ferrell

File this under “Wonders Never Cease.” While doing some research at Monergism.com–a site which is unabashedly Calvinistic–I came across a sermon by Tom Ferrell. Two, in fact!

Yes, at Monergism.com! Yes, Tom Ferrell! Yes, I’m serious! Look for yourself.

They’re near the bottom of this page, and they’re entitled “Exposition of the Epistle of First Peter” and (even more creatively) “Exposition of the Epistle of Second Peter.”

Shocking, I know. Maybe we can all get along.

13 Responses

  1. Sorry to burst your bubble, Chris, but the Tom Ferrell who authored the study outlines is the senior pastor of Arlington Presbyterian Church (PCA) in Arlington, TX. Perhaps you were confusing him with Tom Farrell of Tom Farrell Evangelistic Ministries out of Kansas City, MO.

    Good thing you have editors! :-)

  2. Uh…thanks, Mark.

    (Perhaps you missed the “Snickers” category?)

  3. And you’ll notice that nothing I said in the original post is inaccurate or even misleading. :)

  4. I don’t get it, Chris. Could you elaborate on the joke?…

  5. Thank you for this post, Chris. I love your research and subsequent writing. I’ll be looking forward to the day when we can purchase your first book to the glory of God.

    Btw, Calvin was right on in his agreement with Luther on monergism despite what I have been reading on SharperIron [conservative/fundamental Lutheranism is so much misunderstood in some of the responses I have been following there]. I deeply appreciate your research into this subject, and your staunch defense of the Gospel of Christ. A suggestion for further reading would be “Historical Introductions to the Lutheran Confessions” published by Concordia, St Louis. Calvin built much of his theology based on Luther’s works [hence “Reformed” theology] with some diffs, certainly, but very true to the foundations of the Reformation: the “Bondage of the Will”. Calvin and Melanchthon [author of the Augsburg Confession] were friends for life.

  6. Ryan,

    No.

  7. Ryan, I’m with you. I guess I was the “blonde” who took the bait. I guess we’ll all just let Chris have his snickers.

    Web gem, indeed.

    :-)

  8. :)

    I guess I’ll just have to remain confused and perplexed.

  9. That was funny… it gave me flash backs of the WILDS and of West Milford Baptist church… and of PCC, where we’d listen to his sermons for entertainment.

  10. Frankly, I’m surprised PCC would approve of a guy from the PCA.

  11. You guys are so funny! ;-)

  12. PCC is fine with the PCA as long as they use the KJB.

  13. Which KJB? The AV1769, or the AV1611? Never mind! :D

    I’m sure this post will get booted! ;)

Leave a Reply

