• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

Sermon Summaries (9/17/06)

What did you preach or hear preached Sunday?

2 Responses

  1. hi Chris, I have been going like mad and I am out of town all day tomorrow, so this will be quick, although I have a much more full synopsis on my blog.

    Sunday we spent the whole day in Mt 13, with side excursions elsewhere to get the whole picture of the NT survey we are doing. The first message was The Concept of the Kingdom, showing what it is that Jesus is preaching and why he kept it shrouded from the crowd. The second message surveyed The Parables of the Kingdom, giving a broad picture of the life of the Kingdom in the present age. The last message was Miracle Worker Rejected, where I spoke about the animus of the Nazarenes to their Messiah, and talked about how their doubt is the fundamental doubt of liberalism: ‘where did he get his power?’ Their answers are slightly different, but the objection is the same – he can’t be from God, he’s a man just like the rest of us.

    More here:

    http://ebaptist.blogspot.com/2006/09/91706-sermon-summaries.html

    Regards,
    Don Johnson
    Jer 33.3

  2. Hi Chris,
    We have been working through the Gospel of John in our AM services, and Acts in our PM. We have just come to the point where we will hear no more from John the baptist in this gospel, and I used his example of humility to launch into two messages on pride and conduct using James 4–discussing pride as the root of worldliness(4:1 – 12) and autonomy(4:13 – 17). I don’t normally continue a passage from the morning, but, I needed to–the morning was 50 min long and the evening 39 minutes. I have found it a challenge to preach the Gospels. but it has been good for me and for Westside Baptist.

Leave a Reply

