• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

    • So I shelved a Sinclair Ferguson book beside a Charles Finney book. I expect to find Finney on the floor w/ both covers torn off. #dagonjoke 3 days ago
    • "Tact is the art of making a point without making an enemy." (Isaac Newton) 3 weeks ago
    • "Why does God have to punish sin? Because he's so good. Why does God want to forgive sin? Because he's so good." (Tim Keller) @timkellernyc 3 weeks ago
    • The Christian life is commenced, continued, and completed by grace. #grace 4 weeks ago
    • Everyone treats superiors well. How you treat those under you (a waiter, an employee, an underclassmen, an outcast) reveals your character. 1 month ago
  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

Sermon Summaries (9/3/06)

I’m a little slow this week, but I’m still curious: what did you preach or hear preached Sunday?

(Note: If you’d prefer not to elaborate, that’s fine. I’d be interested even in hearing the text or topic.)

4 Responses

  1. Hey, Chris, I am now fully into the New Testament. The full synopsis is here:

    http://ebaptist.blogspot.com/2006/09/time-for-93-sunday-summaries.html

    Our basic themes were first on the ministry of John the Baptist and the Baptism of Christ: pointing men to the solution to the chaos and hopelessness of the world in which we live (consider the names listed in Lk 3.1 and think of the corruption each one represented in that world). Second we were on the Temptation of Christ and his identification with us. The temptation manifests Christ’s likeness to us and our way out of temptation: filling of the Spirit and employment of the Word. Last, we talked about Christ’s ministry in and around Capernaum and the difference between superficial followers and committed, believing followers. Of course, we recommend the latter.

    Regards,
    Don Johnson
    Jer 33.3

  2. The Lord gave me the opportunity to speak to another congregation while their pastor was away on vaction. During the morning we looked at 2 Peter 3:1-13. During the evening service, we examined two common passages used to support worldly worship: Philippians 1:18 and 1 Corinthians 9:22b-23.

    On a funny note, one of the older men at the church told me I should have given an “altar call” that morning because he was ready to go forward. I smiled and pointed out the fact that God can work in our hearts even without one. He agreed but still thought it would have been better. Old habits die hard, eh?

  3. Welcome to the NT, Don. :)

    Andy, I know you’ve been thinking much on Philippians 1:18 and I Cor. 9:22-23. Do you have a link to some of your thoughts on those passages?

    I preached Sunday morning on Evangelism as Part 4 of a short series entitled “Getting the Gospel Right.” The text was I Cor. 5:17-6:3. I primarily differentiated between God’s work in salvation (described in the passage as rengeration in v. 17, reconciliation in v. 18-19 and justification in v. 19 and 21) and our ministry as ambassadors (v. 20).

    Rather than closing with a powerful illustration to make people feel so guilty they have to witness (yeah, right), I made what I believe is an accurate conclusion from Paul’s example throughout II Corinthians: people who love the Gospel will share it, and do so gladly. Our problem is not just that we need to say more; we need to understand and treasure the Gospel more. Then our evangelism won’t be limited to “spiels” we memorize and awkwardly rattle off, but will instead be the natural communication of those who are overwhelmed by the person and work of Christ. Getting people who don’t cherish the gospel to share it is pointless, IMO.

    Consider this: worship (our speaking to God), edification (our speaking to each other) and evangelism (our speaking to the lost) differ primarily in their audience, not so much in content. (Think of Psalm 96:2-3 in this regard.) We are rejoicing in Christ and His Gospel in all 3 (obviously with different emphases), and we are motivated by the same love of Christ. So the reason we don’t witness well is the same as the reason we don’t worship well: we don’t think much of our Savior.

    (I hope that all made sense, but I’m not going to take time to clean it up.)

  4. Thanks for asking, Chris. If you’d like to read the blog articles, you may click on the following links:

    1 Corinthians 9:22b-23

    Philippians 1:18

    As I prepared the notes from which I preached, I happened to reread my article about Stryper and found the comments to be quite interesting—especially as Philippians 1:18 was brought up.

Leave a Reply

