New Hymn Text: His Robes for Mine

I’ve been meditating for quite some time on the doctrine of justification. It is hard to fathom that I am clothed in Christ’s righteousness, and thus treated by God as His beloved Son in whom He is well pleased. It is even harder to fathom that Christ was clothed in my filthy rags–and those of all of humanity–and thus treated by God as an enemy. How can that be? I preached on these truths this morning, focusing on the inseparable truths of justification, imputation and propitiation. Astounding. Devastating. Thrilling.

I introduced the following hymn at the conclusion of the service, as well, and we reveled to sing the truths we had just studied in the Scriptures. It’s probably in need of some tweaking (I’m waiting to hear back from some trusted and brutally-honest editors, and I’m open to suggestions). I may seek an original tune, as well. In the meantime, I present it for your reflection and edification. I trust that it will drive your thoughts Christ-ward.

Links for His Robes for Mine:

Full Sheet Music / Half Sheet Music / Doctrinal Notes / MIDI Sample

___________

His Robes for Mine

(10.10.10.10)

His robes for mine: O wonderful exchange!
Clothed in my sin, Christ suffered ’neath God’s rage.
Draped in His righteousness, I’m justified!
In Christ I live, for in my place He died.

Chorus:
I cling to Christ, and marvel at the cost:
Jesus forsaken, God estranged from God.
Bought by such love, my life is not my own:
My praise—my all—shall be for Christ alone.

His robes for mine, what cause have I for dread?
God’s daunting Law Christ mastered in my stead.
Faultless I stand, with righteous works not mine,
Saved by my Lord’s vicarious death and life!

His robes for mine: God’s justice is appeased.
Jesus is crushed, and thus the Father’s pleased.
Christ drank God’s wrath on sin, then cried “Tis done!”
Sin’s wage is paid; propitiation won!

His robes for mine: such anguish none can know.
Christ, God’s beloved, condemned as though his foe.
He, as though I, accursed and left alone;
I, as though He, embraced and welcomed home!

3 Responses

  1. That’s good. The more I understand my sinfulness, the more I marvel at the depths of God’s love for me. “My God, how can it be?”

  2. Thanks for sharing this text. It goes well with the message I heard this morning. Pastor Doran is currently preaching through a series on the attributes of God. Today’s message was on God’s righteousness.

  3. Wow Chris. What a powerful hymn. I just listened to the midi player with all the verses singing along with it. Beautiful, majestic and sobering.
    I know in preaching on that great doctrine before that I have used a personal illustration from FIRST GRADE. (That was a long time ago.) We had a gift exchange and I spent a long time (to me at least) at the old Toyland store in Painesville, I picked out something that I would really have liked to receive. The next day at our gift exchange, I don’t remember what gift I was given, but suffice it to say it was a huge letdown. It was a very UNFAIR gift exchanged in my opinion.
    But, the most unfair gift exchange ever was what I gave to Christ, my sin, all of it, in exchange for His righteousness. What a blessing. It goes without saying that He got the absolute worst in that gift exchange.

    But He (God the Father), hath made Him (God the Son) to be sin for us, who knew no sin, that we might be made the righteousness of God in Him.

    Halleluya, what a Savior. (Sorry, I can’t remember how to spell that word anymore in English.)

Leave a Reply

