• My Girls

  • My Sermons

  • Get GM4Missions

    (More Info & Sample)

    "This book is something. Buy it; read it; pray it; and commend it to a friend." (David J. Hesselgrave)

  • Get GM4Men

    (More Info & Sample)

    "Devotional material of this quality for men is extremely hard to come by." (Phil Johnson)

    "This little book is gospel gold." (Milton Vincent)

  • My Hymn Site

  • The Gospel

      A 25-minute mp3 explaining how sinful people can be right with God.

  • My Tweets

  • Subscribe to MTC

  • My Twitter

New Hymn Text: His Robes for Mine

I’ve been meditating for quite some time on the doctrine of justification. It is hard to fathom that I am clothed in Christ’s righteousness, and thus treated by God as His beloved Son in whom He is well pleased. It is even harder to fathom that Christ was clothed in my filthy rags–and those of all of humanity–and thus treated by God as an enemy. How can that be? I preached on these truths this morning, focusing on the inseparable truths of justification, imputation and propitiation. Astounding. Devastating. Thrilling.

I introduced the following hymn at the conclusion of the service, as well, and we reveled to sing the truths we had just studied in the Scriptures. It’s probably in need of some tweaking (I’m waiting to hear back from some trusted and brutally-honest editors, and I’m open to suggestions). I may seek an original tune, as well. In the meantime, I present it for your reflection and edification. I trust that it will drive your thoughts Christ-ward.

Links for His Robes for Mine:

Full Sheet Music / Half Sheet Music / Doctrinal Notes / MIDI Sample

___________

His Robes for Mine

(10.10.10.10)

His robes for mine: O wonderful exchange!
Clothed in my sin, Christ suffered ’neath God’s rage.
Draped in His righteousness, I’m justified!
In Christ I live, for in my place He died.

Chorus:
I cling to Christ, and marvel at the cost:
Jesus forsaken, God estranged from God.
Bought by such love, my life is not my own:
My praise—my all—shall be for Christ alone.

His robes for mine, what cause have I for dread?
God’s daunting Law Christ mastered in my stead.
Faultless I stand, with righteous works not mine,
Saved by my Lord’s vicarious death and life!

His robes for mine: God’s justice is appeased.
Jesus is crushed, and thus the Father’s pleased.
Christ drank God’s wrath on sin, then cried “Tis done!”
Sin’s wage is paid; propitiation won!

His robes for mine: such anguish none can know.
Christ, God’s beloved, condemned as though his foe.
He, as though I, accursed and left alone;
I, as though He, embraced and welcomed home!