Doran & McAllister on Progressive Sanctification

mp3 playerI preached this week from II Corinthians 3:18 on “The Sanctifying Effect of Worship. As part of my preparation I listened to several sermon mp3’s, two of which I found particularly helpful.

The first is this sermon by Dr. Dave Doran. It is an exposition of II Corinthians 3:18, along with a number of helpful cross-references. It’s good. (It’s certainly an improvement over the last message I heard from him. **)

The second is this message by Dr. Bruce McAllister, the Director of Ministerial Training at BJU. It’s another message on II Corinthians 3:18. I listened to this one as I took a quick jog at around 11pm Saturday night. It was the perfect “finale” to my studies, as Dr. McAllister provides his typical fervency, practical applications, etc.

Finally, during my studies I found an article entitled “Worship and Sanctification.” It is written by Henry H. Knight III and published by a Wesleyan site. As you might expect, it has some doctrinal & practical differences from articles I would typically point out (e.g. the typical Wesleyan view that love is God’s dominant attribute, etc.). That said, it was interesting to see some of the same concerns about worship that I’ve voiced myself and heard from fellow fundamentalists. It also has a brief and interesting discussion of how Jonathan Edwards & John Wesley viewed the affections. It’s worth a read, albeit a discerning one.

______

(**Disclaimer: Information presented on this blog may or may not be credible. Furthermore, the views of MTC’s author do not necessarily represent the views of MTC’s owner.)

4 Responses

  1. Since I provided a disclaimer about the article, I should probably go ahead and warn you about Doran’s message, too. I believe he ended it by having the congregation sing “Be Glorified.” Though the song is a prayer, I believe that it is a particularly banal prayer. Listen at your own risk.

  2. Chris, what do you see as the problems, if any, of the differences between Edwards and Wesley?

    Regards,
    Don Johnson
    Jer 33.3

  3. I’ll get back to you, Don. I’m sure there are others that could answer your question more ably than me.

    In the meantime, I must confess that it was NOT Dave Doran who waxed eloquent on the importance of verse divisions, numerology & the like. Call it a momentary memory lapse on my part…or call it a payback for his “maybe you should have been a youth pastor” dig on another thread.

    (BTW, since I was asked by someone, I’ll point out that Doran’s comment had everything to do with me and nothing to do with the dignity of ministering to youth. It’s a not-so-private joke about the counsel Dr. McAllister once gave me when I told him of my intention to plant a church fresh out of seminary. “Precious memories.”)

Leave a Reply

