A Must Hear: Barrett on Worship

I know it’s true: I post too much. (In fact, this may get me back-to-back-to-back on SI’s Blogroll. That can’t be good.)

Besides posting too much, I recommend too many books and messages. The effect is probably to make myself irrelevant, like the boy who cried wolf. (I cry “Sheep!”) However, I couldn’t let this one pass.

I’ve been reading a number of books and listening to a number of sermons on worship lately. (I preach part 4 of an 8-part series on the topic tomorrow.) I’ve done the same on the topics of humility (here and here and here) and holiness (here and elsewhere). It’s been a rich time in my own studies. Still, I don’t think it’s an overstatement to say that this message by Dr. Barrett is among the most compelling things I’ve heard or read for a long time. It addresses all 3 of the issues I’ve been studying: worship, holiness and humility. It is both informative and heart-stirring. It should be “required listening,” as I hope to make it at TCBC, though I haven’t come up with a way to enforce such a mandate.

Joking aside, it is excellent. It will help prepare your heart for worship. I heartily recommend it to you, even if you don’t have a high-speed connection.

(And yes, I was mowing my lawn when I heard it.)

3 Responses

  1. Thank you for introducing me to Dr. Barrett. (Where have I been all my life?!?) Thanks to my new mp3 player, I have been feasting on a number of his messages available through sermonaudio.com. Truly, they have been a feast of blessing, challenge, and spiritual nourishment. Thanks again for these recommendations!

  2. Hi, Lyn. Glad you’re enjoying Dr. Barrett. And glad you’re enjoying your mp3 player. What a great way to “redeem the time” and encourage meditation on the Scriptures. I listen to 4-5 messages a week…in the car, jogging, mowing, whatever. It’s been a great source of spiritual growth for me.

    Feel free to send recommendations this way, as well!

  3. Thanks. Have you listened to Dr. Barrett’s “Lessons from the Ark” yet (7/17/2005, from 2 Sam. 6:1-12)? Just heard it yesterday while we did yard work. Very challenging and very sobering thoughts on worship.

    Have a blessed Lord’s Day!

Leave a Reply

