Grace Amidst the Ashes

I’ve been overwhelmed with sadness as I’ve watched the news and viewed pictures of wildfires devastating my hometown of Colorado Springs. It’s surreal to watch so much beauty and so many cherished places literally go up in smoke. Some of the losses are symbolic, like the burning of the beloved Flying W Ranch. Worse yet are the losses that are truly life-changing. Please pray for those who are losing so much, including friends whose homes are gone. Pray for safety and success for the firefighters. Pray for the believers who live and minister in Colorado Springs, including my brother, Pastor Jeff Anderson (note the beauty of the Springs behind him in his picture) and my home church, Grace Bible Church, and Pastor Jason Parker and High Country Baptist Church. Pray they will know how to help their grieving community by living out the hope of the gospel. Pray for God’s grace to be evident in the midst of the devastation. And in the short term—with urgency—pray for relief, and rain, and an end.

Colorado friends, I’m weeping and praying and trusting with you. Sunday night I preached Habakkuk 3:17-19, unaware of how fitting it would be for many in my hometown. May you experience such faith and grace amidst the ashes.

Though the fig tree should not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food, the flock be cut off from the fold and there be no herd in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD; I will take joy in the God of my salvation. GOD, the Lord, is my strength; he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places.

Grace.

2 Responses

  1. we have family and church family out in “the springs” as well. praying that they remember the Lord is trustworthy. praying as well for Gospel-centered churches as they do good to all, especially those of the household of faith.

  2. Thanks for your prayers, Chris.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 837 other followers

