Driscoll on the Emergent Church

In preparing for a message I delivered Sunday night on the Emergent Church I took advantage of the large collection of information that has been published critiquing the movement. (Monergism.com has an especially helpful resource page here. Don’t miss the mp3 library here.) I’ve learned much from John Ashbrook, D. A. Carson, Phil Johnson, Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck, and others. Ashbrook’s article, in which he essentially lets several emergents speak for themselves, is being published in 3 publications of the OBF’s montly publication, the Visitor. It’s been pretty widely read, and many reprints have been ordered. It should be available online soon. I commend it to you.

Particularly intriguing to me was this mp3 from Mark Driscoll. His take is especially valuable because of his personal history with the movement and his relationships with Brian McLaren and other emergents. I don’t agree with much of what he says, obviously, but he offers a thorough and serious critique of the movment. If you’re looking for a one-hour synopsis of the Emergent Church from somebody that once had a foot in it, give it a listen.

_____

Related: This lecture by Phil Johnson (which I blogged on here) is another helpful synopsis of both secular Postmodernism and it’s pseudo-evangelical cousin, the Emergent Church.

13 Responses

  1. I’ll check that out. Did you say Carson or Carlson? This is the best video on the emergent church that I’ve come across so far.

    http://www.worldviewtube.com/video.php/1810/

  2. Hi Chris,
    Have you read about Mark Driscoll’s comments that are in the news?
    Len Peeler

  3. I haven’t, Len. What has he said? (cringing)

  4. Hi Chris,
    You should be cringing! See what is going on over here: http://www.sfpulpit.com/2008/09/17/john-piper-mark-driscoll-and-harsh-language/ and here: http://oxgoad.ca/2008/09/29/i-am-dismayed/.
    Sorry for the delay in getting back to you!

  5. [...] Why? Because I learned something from Mark Driscoll’s lecture on the Emergent Church and said so. It made perfect sense to me that Driscoll’s drilling of the EC is significant because (a) [...]

  6. I’ve seen both now, Len. Thanks for that. Of course, the last thing I’m going to do is defend Driscoll or what he said. It’s indefensible.

    His insights into the EC are helpful. That’s all I was saying.

  7. Hey Chris,

    Hope you are doing well! Here is another message from Driscoll. He just preached at the National Conference at Piper’s church last week. Great stuff, for the most part. http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/ConferenceMessages/ByConference/41/
    Interestingly, it sounds like an outline you would here from a Fundamentalist pulpit or printed in the Sword of the Lord.

    Go Z,
    Kevin

  8. Did you really sign off with ‘Go Z’? :)

  9. I was asked the same question about a fundy listening to Driscoll. It was tongue in cheek, but nonetheless the question was asked. I feel it necessary to get insight from people that were there. Firsthand knowledge is essential in many cases! I enjoy reading your posts.

  10. [...] Emergent Emergency Posted on October 6, 2008 by Chris I mentioned last week that I recently gave a lecture at TCBC on the Emergent Church. That message is now available [...]

  11. Hey Michael,

    Yeah that was my dorky sign off. Flashback to college when I saw Chris’ post. Thank God I didn’t say “Go Aztecs.” : )
    Hope you are well. Always good to read your posts. Enjoyed the Gingerbread Jesus story. . . You’re right we take ourselves too serious sometimes.

  12. [...] with his own children. I’ve appreciated his bold denunciations of the emergent church, and I’ve cited him as an authority on the movement. I’ve heard messages in which I was pleasantly surprised by his theological [...]

  13. [...] with his own children. I’ve appreciated his bold denunciations of the emergent church, and I’ve cited him as an authority on the movement. I’ve heard messages in which I was pleasantly surprised by his theological and [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 842 other followers

